Chewy Chocolate Peanut Butter Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I made a few small changes to this recipe, after reading some of the other reviews. First, I didn't melt the butter, just softened it. I also replaced 1/2 cup of butter with shortening as it seemed like a lot of people complained about the cookies spreading. Then I replaced half of the white sugar with light brown sugar. One last thing...I had butterscotch chips on hand, instead of peanut butter ones. Anyway, the cookies did not spread and were nice and chewy with a great rich chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Really yummy and chewy! Didn't have any flatting problems and made a couple of batches. These were a hit to everyone I gave them to. Again, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I really liked this recipe! I did make some changes, though. If you do make these cookies, I recommend not melting the butter. Everyone who tried them like them, though, and I certainly have no complaints! =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kshi86
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
These cookies are delicious!! I found the same recipe on the back of "Reese's Peanut Butter Chips" I did a little substituting though. I replaced HALF of the butter with apple sauce (the 'no sugar added' kind, and used 1-1/2 cups of sugar (because, the apple sauce already has some sweetness to it). And for those of you whose cookies that spread too much, I only softened my butter not melt them. and chill the dough, lastly use parchment/wax paper. I find that my cookies don't spread out as much when I use them. I hope my tips help! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kshi86

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
So, my husband has said "Oh man, I think these might be my favorites so far," (he always calls me "man" when he's impressed), and "Curse you, vile woman" as he just took his 8th, 9th, and 10th cookie. These must be a hit! They are serious spreaders, so you'll want to chill the dough for a while before you bake them. I happen to like flat, chewy cookies, but these were a little too flat for me without chilling first. Still...they are awesome. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This was my first try at baking cookies. It was a smash with my grandchildren. I highly recommend it even if I have to make them every other week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Yummm! The peanut butter chips were to die for they added a burst of flavor. The cookies were very chewy and delicious. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissapie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
These were the best cookies I have ever made, and I hardly ever bake. Appearance and tase wise. Mine weren't flat at all. I made them about 10 days ago and they STILL are just as soft as the day I made them. I got rave reviews. My batch made 33 cookies which were quite large.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
We loved these cookies at our house! It was so easy and delicious! Next time I will add nuts, just to add texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minh Chau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I have to rate these kind of medium. They taste pretty good but they look terrible. They spread out and are very thin. I didn't melt the butter all the way and even put the dough in the freezer and they still spread. I think adding more flour, using less butter and putting in some baking powder might help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States