Chewy Chocolate Peanut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Not so great. Sorry, but I have to agree with another rating on here that states that these taste kind of bland. I didn't follow the recipe to a T because I had no peanuts.. so I just increased my oatmeal by 1/2cup and put in 3/4 c. of coconut... I don't think that should have made any difference in how they tasted... but I'm still going with bland. I will stick with no-bake chocolate oatmeal cookies next time, made with cocoa instead of chips. Also... I would definately not boil this for 5 minutes like it says.. I was at a minute when it started scorching, even though I was stirring constantly. I added a tablespoon of butter to get it to stop scorching but pulled it off after only boiling a minute and a half.. and that was at less than medium heat. Will not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lyons, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellydancer
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
These aren't anything like candy. They taste more like a chocolate granola bar. I would not make these again, there are other granola bar type recipes I like much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
My husband and I love this recipe. It is a bit chewy, but we're into that. The first time I made them I used the exact recipe. The 2nd time, I cut the corn syrup down to 1/2 cup and the chocolate chips down to 1 cup. Everything else stayed the same. This made them more oaty and hopefully a little more healthy! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
These were not to my taste. i would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
I was not too impressed. They did not have too much flavor in my opinion, but I like that it uses peanuts and oats (pantry items I keep handy). I am going to eat them, don't get me wrong, but I probably won't make them again. I also was not able to cut them. It was like trying to saw a rubber door mat! They aren't hard, but chewy like the name says, so I tore off pieces instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
This is a great recipe! My family loved it! Better than store-bought "Eatmore". I used a Pampered Chef Stoneware bar pan. Sprayed a little bit of canola oil on the pan, and it worked great. Nothing stuck on the pan and it cut easily. The only thing I did differently was use crunchy peanut butter instead of creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
These are very similar to the no bake cookie recipes on here. These were not too sweet and very easy to prepare. Thankx for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2004
its a good recipe, very easy and tasty. But I personally thought it was a little too sweet, then again i didnt have any corn syrup and substituted it with honey. The honey over-powered the taste of the peanut butter, next time i think I'll use more peanut butter and less corn syrup/honey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
MMMMMM very tasty....the whole family loved these bars and i have already passed this recipe on to two other people who also loved them. thanx for the great recipe. this one will definately go into my recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2001
Very good, just warm them a little before eating or else they are quite hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States