Chewy Chocolate Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Way too sweet for my family's taste, but I will definitely be making more with less sugar!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I just made these, and they are very good!!! I know I'm going to make them again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: El Mirage, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
yumm... I love those thin chewy cookies, and this is just the kind i like! I substituted 2 cups of evaporated cane juice for the sugar, oh boy, these are so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugarless Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I'm sad to give this recipe only 3 stars. They are pretty tasty but following this recipe exactly as is leads to some pretty fail cookies. The dough was somewhat dry and crumbly, the cookies did not flatten on their own (which is weird since that is what other reviewers complained about), they actually stuck to my non-greased non-stick cookie sheet, after baking for nearly 15 min and allowing to cool completely they were extremely soft and delicate, they had an oily/greasy feel to them, and they had a gritty texture. I've made many cookies in the past, so I have a good bit of experience, and the more changes I noted I will have to make, the more I disliked this recipe. If I ever make this recipe again, it will only be in small batches for my own personal satisfaction and chocolate fix since these cookies are not presentable for special gatherings and occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xena91388

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
It was nearing grocery shopping day, and my oldest was begging to make cookies for Santa but I didn't have much on hand. I typed some ingredients into a seach engine and found this. I dislike baking with margarine but did it anyway. I also added a tsp. of baking powder as one reviewer said it combated the problem of the cookies being flat. Maybe I didn't add enough because my cookies were very flat and spread lots. Regardless, they were delicious! Classic, chewy, and chocolatey, they looked like cookies you get at a bakery. I can see us making them every year for Santa as they just strike me as perfect timeless chocolate cookies that you set out on Christmas eve with a big glass of milk. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
These were delicious! I have been trying to find a recipe like this that tasted like a brownie but was a cookie... these are them! Since i made them for CHRISTmas, i crushed up some red Andy's mints and added them to my dough, well they came out delicious! I would definitely call this one of my favorite cookies! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
They were really good! I gave them 4 stars because they were a little dry, I don't know what went wrong, but besides that they were very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I did just as the recipe said to and I wasnt really all that happy with it. the cookie tastes good it just seem to be too thin. I may try some adjustments and go at it again. Not sure yet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Always turns out, even when I put in too much or not enough of another!!! I sometimes add a bit of black pepper and cayenne, sometimes I turn them into mini-brownies by baking in muffin cups, always delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I found these cookies to be perfect the way the recipe was written but I did make a small change and that was to switch the sugar to 1c and 3/4 brown sugar other then that they were fantastic,. My grand-daughter made this while I watched and now her mother (my daughter) can't keep her hands of them. Again an amazing cookie. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NutsBabyGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States