Chewy Chocolate Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This recipe turned out great. DEFINITELY take the advice of others who used 1/2 teaspoon baking soda and 1/2 teaspoon baking powder in place of the 1/4 teaspoon baking soda. I even changed the recipe to 28 servings, so it said 1/2 teaspoon baking soda. I used 3/4 teaspoon baking soda and 3/4 teaspoon baking powder - PERFECT! Also, make sure and put the dough in the fridge for about 5-10 minutes before baking. This is with all cookies. The colder the dough before placing them on the baking sheet, the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I am watching my calories, so I made these cookies with a low cal margarine and they were still fantastic! I was able to cut them back to 190 calories per serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
If you are a chocolate lover, these have a rich chocolate flavor, and you will love them! However, These cookies were too much chocolate for me. My husband loved them. If I make these again, I will only be adding 1 cup of chocolate chips, or just omit the chocolate chips. As for baking - I had to bake these for the full 9 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This is the exact texture I have been looking for!! YUM. Very chocolatey, the way i like them. A little hard to get off the baking sheet but after a little work with the spatula they came off all in one piece. I used about half a cup of trail mix (peanuts, almonds, cashews and walnuts) in place of just walnuts, worked nicely. Only used 1 cup of the cho chips, will up the trail mix by another 1/2 cup next time. Thanks for the recipe!! They will become a regular in my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
These cookies were good. The only problem I had with them is that after I put them away, they all crumbled! So not very chewy, but soft and chocolately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Two stars for this cookie as I was very disappointed in how it baked into a typical flat pancake-like cookie. I have been baking for years and have not seen such a flat cookie recipe in about as many. They were hard to remove from my well greased sheet ,even after I let them sit on the sheet for a few minutes to cool off. They are crumbly and not a very solid cookie at all. On a positive note, they are a very tasty cookie. I won't be making these again. sorry, just not happy at all with these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Ruzycki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
These are absolutely yum. I used butter-flavored shortening (all I had on-hand) and I added Nestle's mint-and-chocolate swirled chips to them which made them pretty and Christmasy. I did not add nuts because they're going to be gifts and you never know, with nuts. Wanted to say that the photo on this recipe does not reflect the true brownie-ish color these cookies have. The photo makes them look sort of golden but they're truly brown like brownies. I agree with everyone saying "don't monkey with the temp or time in the oven." They'll come out of the oven puffy like gingerbread cookies but let them rest and they flatten out and have a lovely final appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
Not the recipe I was hoping for. Soft and cakey, not chewy. Easy enough to follow but not one to keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Effie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
My hubby and kids absolutely love these, but I didn't think they were chocolatey enough. It took almost twice the time for them to cook. Maybe it's my oven. They also didn't spread like most cookies do when they bake and came out very dense. Maybe I did something wrong. Will try again, but next time will melt some chips and add it to the mix. May also substitute butter for 1/2 of the shortening next time. Hubby and kids thank you, Rosina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4callmemommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
These are great brownie-cookies. Followed recipe with one exception: one cup of chocolate chips is enough for me. To dress them up for a Christmas party, add a little pink peppermint frosting & crushed candy canes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States