Chewy Chocolate Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
Not the recipe I was hoping for. Soft and cakey, not chewy. Easy enough to follow but not one to keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Effie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2002
really yummy & chocolatey! As per other review, do NOT increase oven temp & bake longer!!! You will burn cookies. I think her oven might be off. I found recipe to be exactly right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Beaver, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
Very good. They are very close to a brownie. You don't think they're done after 7-9 minutes, but they are after they set. Very chewy. I'm know for my chocolate chip cookies and my husband said these might even be better than those!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Two stars for this cookie as I was very disappointed in how it baked into a typical flat pancake-like cookie. I have been baking for years and have not seen such a flat cookie recipe in about as many. They were hard to remove from my well greased sheet ,even after I let them sit on the sheet for a few minutes to cool off. They are crumbly and not a very solid cookie at all. On a positive note, they are a very tasty cookie. I won't be making these again. sorry, just not happy at all with these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Ruzycki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
Absolutely heavenly. They are not only soft, but they have this melt-in-your-mouth texture. They were all gobbled up within a few hours of my making them - a huge hit with all my picky brothers and sisters! Tomorrow is my eldest brother's birthday (he's away attending college) and this is what I am sending him in the mail - I'm sure he'll love them as much as we al at home do!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
Everyone loved them. They were very chocolatey and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Absolutely DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2001
This is a very good cookie. Very much like a brownie. However, I had to increase the baking time to 11 minutes and increase the oven temperature to 400 degrees. I will probably make them again, as my family really liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
These are absolutely yum. I used butter-flavored shortening (all I had on-hand) and I added Nestle's mint-and-chocolate swirled chips to them which made them pretty and Christmasy. I did not add nuts because they're going to be gifts and you never know, with nuts. Wanted to say that the photo on this recipe does not reflect the true brownie-ish color these cookies have. The photo makes them look sort of golden but they're truly brown like brownies. I agree with everyone saying "don't monkey with the temp or time in the oven." They'll come out of the oven puffy like gingerbread cookies but let them rest and they flatten out and have a lovely final appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
My hubby and kids absolutely love these, but I didn't think they were chocolatey enough. It took almost twice the time for them to cook. Maybe it's my oven. They also didn't spread like most cookies do when they bake and came out very dense. Maybe I did something wrong. Will try again, but next time will melt some chips and add it to the mix. May also substitute butter for 1/2 of the shortening next time. Hubby and kids thank you, Rosina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4callmemommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States