Chewy Chocolate Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This recipe made beautiful cookies! I used 2 sticks(1 cup) of butter instead of margarine, and baked them for 6.5 minutes and they turned out awesome! Very chocolatey and just the right amount of chewy. I had no problems with them sticking to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I really liked these. I wanted some cookies but didn't have any chocolate chips. I left out the nuts and put a full cup of cocoa powder in them and they are yummy. Almost like a brownie, but not. They turned out perfect. Didn't stick to the greased cookie sheet. I will keep this recipe in the books! **UPDATE** I kept these cookies in a container on the counter and they lasted a long while (I made a lot!). They stayed soft and chewy. Some people said they got better every day! Love these cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Dumplin
Living In: Hope Mills, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I love this recipe! (First I made it to a tee, just a little flat that time) And I can't make cookies to save my life. Second time - I didn't add the vanilla (didn't have any) and no salt, used baking powder rather than soda (didn't have any again ;) there is a reason I can't bake)and whole wheat flour. first batch was flat so I added about 1/2 cup more flour and they are fantastic.. definatly taste like a brownie and didn't have an issue with the pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
After reading the reviews, I was reluctant in making these cookeie. THEY TURNED OUT AWESOME!!! I did use a SilPat cookie sheet liner while baking and I kept them to a teaspoon drop per each cookie. Be brave and try to make them before you "write them off." They are super easy and require minimal ingredients. They are worth it and I can't wait to take them to a party or cookout this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I loved these cookies. They really were like eating a brownie. I think that they would also be very good with some pecans or fudge. Thanks I will be making these again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Very tasty but...first batch were very flat and undercooked. Second batch, cooked 2 minutes longer were a bit better but still too undercooked. I used one user's tip about cooking for 15 mins and were much better and not quite as flat but were a little crunchy around the outside...just the way I like 'em! I read recently that if your baking soda is expired it will cause your cookies to flatten. I'll try again with some "fresher" baking soda. Also, here's a great tip: if your cookies are too crunchy for your liking, put them in a sealed container with a slice of bread and within a day they're perfect!! The longer they sit in the container, the softer they will become.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
I thought this recipe was great! As far as the cookies setting up, I found it helpful to use cold margarine and using a little extra flour to make more of a dough consistency, then putting it in the freezer for 10 minutes, before spooning onto the cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Really good recipe, with just a few changes I made to make them cholesterol-free and keep them from getting flat...Use baking powder instead of baking soda, and the cookies will hold their shape more. Also I substituted the margarine with butter flavored shortening and peanut butter--this also helps keep them from flattening out. I also used egg beaters and whole grain wheat flour. Even the kids thought they were FANTASTIC, even though they were "healthy". Great basic recipe, thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Our family LOVES these! They're simple to make and sinfully good. I've made them many times and they have always come out great. I used baking stones, so I added about 7 minutes to the baking time. I would strongly reccomend this recipe. (I once decorated them with a swirl of peanut butter frosting. It was a nice twist on the flavor)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Baltzley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
just needed a little more flour so they wouldn't flatten to much and a little milk to help mix the batter. but they were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States