Chewy Chocolate Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I loved these cookies. They really were like eating a brownie. I think that they would also be very good with some pecans or fudge. Thanks I will be making these again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Very tasty but...first batch were very flat and undercooked. Second batch, cooked 2 minutes longer were a bit better but still too undercooked. I used one user's tip about cooking for 15 mins and were much better and not quite as flat but were a little crunchy around the outside...just the way I like 'em! I read recently that if your baking soda is expired it will cause your cookies to flatten. I'll try again with some "fresher" baking soda. Also, here's a great tip: if your cookies are too crunchy for your liking, put them in a sealed container with a slice of bread and within a day they're perfect!! The longer they sit in the container, the softer they will become.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
I thought this recipe was great! As far as the cookies setting up, I found it helpful to use cold margarine and using a little extra flour to make more of a dough consistency, then putting it in the freezer for 10 minutes, before spooning onto the cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Really good recipe, with just a few changes I made to make them cholesterol-free and keep them from getting flat...Use baking powder instead of baking soda, and the cookies will hold their shape more. Also I substituted the margarine with butter flavored shortening and peanut butter--this also helps keep them from flattening out. I also used egg beaters and whole grain wheat flour. Even the kids thought they were FANTASTIC, even though they were "healthy". Great basic recipe, thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Our family LOVES these! They're simple to make and sinfully good. I've made them many times and they have always come out great. I used baking stones, so I added about 7 minutes to the baking time. I would strongly reccomend this recipe. (I once decorated them with a swirl of peanut butter frosting. It was a nice twist on the flavor)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Baltzley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
just needed a little more flour so they wouldn't flatten to much and a little milk to help mix the batter. but they were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
These cookies are very good. The recipe makes big, flat chewy cookies. They are great with whipped cream on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Holt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
this recipe was rediculously delicious!! i would reccommend cooking them for more like 15-20 minutes though because they were a little undercooked after 8-10 minutes. they were yummy, fluffy, and certainly did taste exactly like brownies!! i will defenitly use this recipe for all occasions :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
They taste great, but the cookies came out totally flat. It surprised me because the batter was really thick when I spooned it out. They're definitely chewy and chocolately but way too thin for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I made the recipe as written, except that I used butter. They do spread a bit, but I had no problem removing them from an ungreased pan. They have a chewy, somewhat grainy brownie-like texture, which I really like. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States