Chewy Chocolate Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
GREAT cookies! I think the people who have complained might have used low-cholesterol margerines, which are not good for baking. Be sure to look for "Great for Baking!" on the labels, and never use a whipped margerine for cooking. I actually didn't have any baking margerine so I substituted 1/2 cup butter and 3/4 cup butter-flavored shortening. They turned out great! I added some pink Komen Foundation M&Ms into the mix for a little extra color and chocolate. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Awesome. I like to make ice cream sandwiches out of these. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
My sister-in law said she used it in a 9x13 pan for brownies instead. I tried it and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I threw these together last-minute to take to a potluck at work. They were so quick and easy, and I was able to make them with basic ingredients I had on hand. One comment I got was that they had "the perfect chocolate flavor."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robinmaguire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mustang, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This recipe made beautiful cookies! I used 2 sticks(1 cup) of butter instead of margarine, and baked them for 6.5 minutes and they turned out awesome! Very chocolatey and just the right amount of chewy. I had no problems with them sticking to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I really liked these. I wanted some cookies but didn't have any chocolate chips. I left out the nuts and put a full cup of cocoa powder in them and they are yummy. Almost like a brownie, but not. They turned out perfect. Didn't stick to the greased cookie sheet. I will keep this recipe in the books! **UPDATE** I kept these cookies in a container on the counter and they lasted a long while (I made a lot!). They stayed soft and chewy. Some people said they got better every day! Love these cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Dumplin
Living In: Hope Mills, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I love this recipe! (First I made it to a tee, just a little flat that time) And I can't make cookies to save my life. Second time - I didn't add the vanilla (didn't have any) and no salt, used baking powder rather than soda (didn't have any again ;) there is a reason I can't bake)and whole wheat flour. first batch was flat so I added about 1/2 cup more flour and they are fantastic.. definatly taste like a brownie and didn't have an issue with the pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
After reading the reviews, I was reluctant in making these cookeie. THEY TURNED OUT AWESOME!!! I did use a SilPat cookie sheet liner while baking and I kept them to a teaspoon drop per each cookie. Be brave and try to make them before you "write them off." They are super easy and require minimal ingredients. They are worth it and I can't wait to take them to a party or cookout this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I loved these cookies. They really were like eating a brownie. I think that they would also be very good with some pecans or fudge. Thanks I will be making these again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Very tasty but...first batch were very flat and undercooked. Second batch, cooked 2 minutes longer were a bit better but still too undercooked. I used one user's tip about cooking for 15 mins and were much better and not quite as flat but were a little crunchy around the outside...just the way I like 'em! I read recently that if your baking soda is expired it will cause your cookies to flatten. I'll try again with some "fresher" baking soda. Also, here's a great tip: if your cookies are too crunchy for your liking, put them in a sealed container with a slice of bread and within a day they're perfect!! The longer they sit in the container, the softer they will become.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States