Chewy Chocolate Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
The instructions for this recipe really should indicate chilling the dough. It will cut down on the flatness of the cookies. Even with chilling though they are still fairly flat cookies, but there isn't anything wrong with that is there? They are delicious, moist, and chewy. Like the edge piece from a pan of brownies. I put an unwrapped Andes mint on each as they came out of the oven and swirled the chocolate after it was melted to make a yummy mint cookie for my holiday baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
It's too bad that people put such bad reviews because I tried this recipe and it was just perfect for what I wanted! I made them very tiny, about teaspoon sized, and cooked for 7 mins at 350. I then made mint filling and made homemade mint oreo sandwiches. They were PERFECT! They are a little tough to get off the pan but I switched to a metal spatula and that was just fine. Just make sure to leave them on the hot pan for about 2 minutes. Also, they do flatten out so if you put them too big/close together-- then yes they will run together. But mine formed into perfect circles for my oreos! I even refrigerated them (bc of the filling) and they were still chewy! Just watch baking time because I left my last batch on the pan for about 5 mins and they were more dry & crunchy. The rest were perfect baking 7 mins, sitting on pan for 2 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I read most of the reviews for this recipe, and agree that chilling the dough first is a good idea. Most chocolate brownie cookie recipes work better with the dough chilled. I did cut back the butter that is listed to 3/4 cup this help to make the cookies stand up rather than spread out. All in all it is a good recipe and the cookies are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
My family really liked these cookies. I refrigerated the dough about 20 min. before making the balls, lightly sprayed the cookie sheets with no-stick spray and made small balls. I didn't have any problems with sticking or spreading and they were good-looking small round cookies. I actually would like to give these a 4 and a half stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
GREAT cookies! I think the people who have complained might have used low-cholesterol margerines, which are not good for baking. Be sure to look for "Great for Baking!" on the labels, and never use a whipped margerine for cooking. I actually didn't have any baking margerine so I substituted 1/2 cup butter and 3/4 cup butter-flavored shortening. They turned out great! I added some pink Komen Foundation M&Ms into the mix for a little extra color and chocolate. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Awesome. I like to make ice cream sandwiches out of these. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
My sister-in law said she used it in a 9x13 pan for brownies instead. I tried it and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I threw these together last-minute to take to a potluck at work. They were so quick and easy, and I was able to make them with basic ingredients I had on hand. One comment I got was that they had "the perfect chocolate flavor."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robinmaguire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mustang, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This recipe made beautiful cookies! I used 2 sticks(1 cup) of butter instead of margarine, and baked them for 6.5 minutes and they turned out awesome! Very chocolatey and just the right amount of chewy. I had no problems with them sticking to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I really liked these. I wanted some cookies but didn't have any chocolate chips. I left out the nuts and put a full cup of cocoa powder in them and they are yummy. Almost like a brownie, but not. They turned out perfect. Didn't stick to the greased cookie sheet. I will keep this recipe in the books! **UPDATE** I kept these cookies in a container on the counter and they lasted a long while (I made a lot!). They stayed soft and chewy. Some people said they got better every day! Love these cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Dumplin
Living In: Hope Mills, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States