Chewy Chocolate Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
My daughter and a friend wanted some cookies and I had no chocolate chips, so I found this recipe and made the cookies and they loved them, as well as my son and husband. I loved the fact that they were light and low in fat but very flavorable, very good will keep and make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I have made these cookies often, having found the same recipe in a Taste of Home magazine. They are one of my "go to" cookie recipes. Only diff in their recipe is butter instead of margarine, and the addition of one and a half cups of chocolate chips. I change it up sometimes and use dried cranberries and chips or Heath brickle bits,etc. Don't understand the problems people have had with this, just like a Tollhouse cookie only chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clare'sgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rumford, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I chose this recipe only because it was the only one I could find with ingredients I had on hand. VERY GOOD! I used butter instead of margarine and pecans instead of walnuts. They do taste a bit like brownies. Chewy and rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusieQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
So delicious! The only thing I substituted was butter instead of margarine. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND you chill the dough for a while before you bake them. It helped to keep the cookies from spreading too much. Otherwise this recipe is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I've looked for YEARS to find a really good chewy chocolate cookie. THIS IS IT!! It is addicting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
These cookies are very good. They do taste like brownies. I had to chill my batter because once they sat out waiting to to be baked, the batter gets to soft. Do keep them small because they do spread. I love them and they are easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zolin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
The instructions for this recipe really should indicate chilling the dough. It will cut down on the flatness of the cookies. Even with chilling though they are still fairly flat cookies, but there isn't anything wrong with that is there? They are delicious, moist, and chewy. Like the edge piece from a pan of brownies. I put an unwrapped Andes mint on each as they came out of the oven and swirled the chocolate after it was melted to make a yummy mint cookie for my holiday baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
It's too bad that people put such bad reviews because I tried this recipe and it was just perfect for what I wanted! I made them very tiny, about teaspoon sized, and cooked for 7 mins at 350. I then made mint filling and made homemade mint oreo sandwiches. They were PERFECT! They are a little tough to get off the pan but I switched to a metal spatula and that was just fine. Just make sure to leave them on the hot pan for about 2 minutes. Also, they do flatten out so if you put them too big/close together-- then yes they will run together. But mine formed into perfect circles for my oreos! I even refrigerated them (bc of the filling) and they were still chewy! Just watch baking time because I left my last batch on the pan for about 5 mins and they were more dry & crunchy. The rest were perfect baking 7 mins, sitting on pan for 2 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I read most of the reviews for this recipe, and agree that chilling the dough first is a good idea. Most chocolate brownie cookie recipes work better with the dough chilled. I did cut back the butter that is listed to 3/4 cup this help to make the cookies stand up rather than spread out. All in all it is a good recipe and the cookies are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
My family really liked these cookies. I refrigerated the dough about 20 min. before making the balls, lightly sprayed the cookie sheets with no-stick spray and made small balls. I didn't have any problems with sticking or spreading and they were good-looking small round cookies. I actually would like to give these a 4 and a half stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States