Chewy Chocolate Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ummishouse
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I thought these cookies were great. They come out like brownies. I subbed butter for the margarine and followed other suggestions to let the dough sit in the fridge before cooking. I have made two batches, the one that cooled the longest came out thicker than my initial batch which was flatter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ummishouse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janet Knapp
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I halved the recipe, using butter instead of margarine, and let the butter soften just until soft enough to cream with the sugar, egg, vanilla and salt, then added the dry ingredients. Baked on silicon baking sheets. They set up beautifully, didn't fall flat or run together, easily slipped right off the baking sheets once cooled, and were absolutely delicious! Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Knapp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westbury, New York, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Just baked up a 1/2 batch and the are very good! They taste like my favorite part of a brownie. Had to make some substitutions because I didn't have some of the ingredients. Use canola oil (using the allrecipes substitution chart) instead of butter and 1/2 white, 1/2 brown sugar. The batter didn't run as some reviewers stated. Cooked for 10min. and let them cool a bit before removing from the parchment paper because they did crumble a bit when they come from the oven. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ddno1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunrise, Florida, USA
Living In: Sebring, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I made these, followed recipe exactly. They are awesome. I did spray cookie sheet with pam, and added choclate chips and pecans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lovesmebaking
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I just got done making these and they turned out great! The people who had problems must not have followed instructions. These were chocolately, moist and I am glad I made them! I think next time I may add some peanut butter chips! yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovesmebaking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
These were okay, not fantastic. I made them for Halloween to be witches hat cookies and followed the recipe exactly. They have very little flavor, so I wouldn't make them as a stand alone cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Great recipe! 4 stars because in order to make it 5 stars, I added a box of dry vanilla pudding mix to reduce runnyness and spread. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Margaux
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
If you do not like cocoa I would not suggest this recipe. I halved this recipe because I didn't want to make four dozen cookies and replaced the margarine with softened salted butter. I also skipped the nuts all together. In my first batch I greased half the cookie sheet and didn't notice a difference between taste or easiness to remove from the sheet. I didn't regrease the sheet and continued to have zero problems removing the cookies so long I used a metal spatula. I chilled my cookie dough in the freezer between batches. The last batch, which had been chilled for 90 minutes was not too different from the first batch which was only chilled for the amount of time it took to preheat the oven. I made balled 1 teaspoon cookies, so even with the halved recipe I ended up with just under 40. These definitely turned out more like brownie bites (that tasted like cocoa) than "normal" flat cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I have made them following the recipe exactly and they were amazing. But I wanted them to be more like a brownie in a cookie form. Before adding any of the dry ingredients I mixed a box of instant vanilla pudding in with the wet ingredients. I then added another 1/2-1 cup of flour to the dry ingredients. They came out looking like cookies but tasting exactly like brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This recipe was so easy and good until the last crumble! As I always do with new recipes, I cut it in half just in case I didn't like it. I should have made the whole batch! I put the batter in the freezer at the same time I started to pre-heat the oven and it made it easy to put on the cookie sheets. These cookies are soft and chewy on the inside and are the perfect mix between a cookie and a brownie. So delicious! These would be perfect with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States