Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Kimberly Lara
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I increased the flour by a 1/4 cup and reduced the baking soda by a 1/4 teaspoon. I also put half semi-sweet chocolate and half white chocolate chips and added about 1/3 cup of craisins. I call them my Black, White and Red Oatmeal Cookies! They were a huge hit at the office! Note: I had to raise the temp of my oven to 350 and it took about 20-25 minutes to cook; probably because the cookies were a little denser and didn't flatten as much as the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Lara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Wonderful recipe! I've used it several times now and they've turned out great each time. I've made a couple of modifications, one being I added 1/3 c more oatmeal and another time I added finely chopped walnuts and 1/2 tsp cinnamon. They're so good, I can even use them as bribes for my staff. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Photo by Porkchop9024
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I've made this recipe a couple of times and it always turns out perfectly! Just can't get enough of the crunchiness of the oats! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This is a great recipe. I have made it several times now and gotten tons of compliments each time. I did modify it very slightly by decreasing the salt to 1/2 tsp (the first time I made them they were just a bit too salty for our taste) and I use my "secret" ingredient of using only Guittard Milk Chocolate chips. But other than those personal taste substitutions, they are perfect! I also wanted to add my personal tip: chill your cookie dough for an hour if you can, then loosely shape into a balls and flatten them bit with your hand when you put them on the cookie sheet. This will prevent your cookies from flattening out and still give them a substantial "middle" worth biting into!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
my favorite chocolate chip cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I add 1 Teaspoon cinnamon. And if you use unsalted butter, it's not too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
My family loves these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Not so much on the chewy side but these were very popular in my household! As I have made this recipe more than once, I consider that to be a great sign.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amber Mallette
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
They were great my kids and fiance's family loved them so much I took half the batter and put 1 cup chocolate chips in it and then in the other half 1 cup raisins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Mallette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Took the suggestion of some of the others. I added a 1/4 cup more flour, doubled the baking soda, and halved the salt. I then refrigerated the dough for about an hour before baking. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 3,051) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States