Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I've been searching for a chewy cookie recipe for some time now. I was impressed with amount of positive ratings this cookie had, so I thought I'd give them a try, only to be very disappointed after making them. I have no idea what happened as I followed this recipe exactly. The name of this cookie is misleading, they are not a chewy cookie at all..Actually, they are crunchy. The cookie is soft and chewy right out of the oven, but soon there after, when cooled, they turned as hard as a brick. I placed them in a sealed container and by the next day, they were so dry and crumbly. The bland flavor and dryness was not what I was hoping for thus, I will continue my search for a flavorful, chewy cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Pretty good. I did modify the recipe a bit, based off my own experience and other's reviews. I use unsalted butter so I left the salt as is. Used 1/4 cup more flour, added an extra 1/2 tsp baking soda, a dash of cinnamon, no nuts, and more chocolate chips (milk chocolate). I refrigerated the dough for about an hour.(I have 2 toddlers and a 6 month old baby. I have to do things in stages.) Baked at 325 for about 13 minutes for my oven. Turned out not too puffy, not too flat with the perfect crispy edges and chewy center. I will make these again. Hope this helps. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Was delicious just as described. Only substitution I made was using wheat flour in place of white flour. I topped it with ice cream and hot caramel. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
it was ok, I followed the recipe, but it needed alot more cooking time and just tasted like brown sugar and butter. maybe I am doing something wrong, but I checked the directions 2 times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nycindyloo
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
These came out small and puffy but were chewy and delicious! I used twice as many chocolate chips and more chopped walnuts (I like lots of chunks). You probably could cut back on the salt a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Awesome with following changes SO EASY! Mixed all in Kitchenaid SO QUICK! I used 1 3/4 cup flour and 1 tsp baking soda. First batch only 1/2 cup butter NO SPREADING 2nd batch (used white chocolate chips and cranberries) used full cup of butter and the cookies spread so if you want cookies to spread use full cup butter if prefer thicker cookie use 1/2 cup. In both cases place dough in fridge for minimum 45 minutes for easier handling. I then just used my 2" cookie scoop! You have to try white chocolate and cranberry I dont even like cranberries and I couldn't stop eating these. NOTE*** Soak craisins in hot water for 10 minutes dry off with paper towel before adding to dough. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colette Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This is the best oatmeal chocolate chip cookie recipe I've ever tried. I followed the advise of others and kept mixing to a minimum. They didn't go flat and were nice and chewy. My husband even liked them and he doesn't eat sweets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Okay my family will not stop eating these. I chopped pecans and added them and baked at 350 because I misread the recipe and they were still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJameson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I took some of others suggestions such as using brown sugar and white sugar. Creamed the butter with sugar for 4-5 min etc. These cookies were just average in my opinion. They weren't bad at all but didn't make me say "wow!" either.... I think I like the Beth's oatmeal cookies from this site the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
My husband made these tonight, they were amazing. He used white chocolate chips instead of milk chocolate(It's what we had in the pantry). I think the white chocolate really made them better. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 2,900) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States