Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by OUgirl
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
These cookies are not too bad. I followed the recipe exact. As others stated, they are too salty. I suggest only adding 1/2 tsp of salt. My cookies did not turn out flat, bc I made sure to soften my butter at room temperature (not microwave). Also, I freeze my dough while letting the oven preheat. I also suggest cooking at 350 degrees for 14 minutes then leave them on pan for 5 minutes as recipe suggests. My second and third pan turned out better by longer cooking time. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
These cookies were tasty, but not soft and chewy! I took the advise of everyone on here to increase flour and baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLindstrom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Delicious! Could use a tad less salt if you are sensitive, but otherwise these are fantastic. I made them exactly the recipe suggest. I'll admit, I was a little nervous after reading some of reviews saying that the recipe needed more oats. I feared the cookies wouldn't turn out well because the dough did seem a little loose. However, I went ahead and popped the first batch into the oven to bake. Then my nervousness took over and added more oats to the 2nd half of the dough. I needed the cookies for a party at my daughters school and really needed them to turn out. After the first batch (exactly as written) was finished, I baked the second batch (with a little more oats). Then I did a taste test with my family and EVERYONE, (including me) preferred the cookies made exactly as the recipe is written. Took off one star for the slight saltiness of this recipe, but these cookies are super delicious anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLEABROOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Amherst, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
The only modifications I made were to cut the salt in half, just based on instinct and other reviews, and added a dash of cinnamon. These were great! The kids loved them, the hubby and I loved them too! Make sure not to over mix the dry ingredients in to the wet , otherwise you will end up with a flat over cooked cookie, instead of the thick and chewy version that came for a proper mix. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steffyp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I've made these several times and have loved them each time. In an attempt to get the cookies even more chewy and soft, I melted the butter before creaming it with sugar, used dark brown sugar instead of the light and used 1 egg + 1 egg yolk instead of both eggs. I also followed others' suggestions to increase the flour and baking soda and decrease the salt a bit. They turned out delicious. I leave out the nuts and put the dough in the freezer between batches. (I've never had the problem of the cookies going flat.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
My husband says this is his new favorite cookie! I made them just how it says in the recipe and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
These cookies are AMAZINGLY DELICIOUS! I followed the recipe exactly as written. I used UNSALTED butter and the salt called for in the recipe and they were perfect. Absolutely scrumptious. So much so, I couldn't stop eating them! These are probably the best oatmeal cookies I have ever made. Thank you for sharing the recipe, PANTHERA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Reduce salt by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
texture was wonderful...they look fabulous...but waaaaaay too much vanilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Perfect, but had to increase temp to 350. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 3,087) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States