Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
My husband LOVED these...he told me these are his favorite of always and the next day he said they were amazing. I halfed the recipe and made 35 cookies. Only change I made was to swap the amounts of the walnuts and chocolate chips. I will have to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKalka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2015
I have been making these cookies for years now and have just recently been adventurous enough to change them up (a little). I only use 1 cup of light brown sugar (loosely packed), no white sugar at all and 3/4 cup of choc chips. They spread a bit but still have some bulk to them and have a bit of crunch on the outside while still being soft on the inside. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
I followed RCBA320's lead and swapped out 1/2 cup butter for 1/2 cup apple sauce, added an extra 1/4 cup flour to the original recipe, and omitted nuts. I also reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp. after reading the reviews above. I added in some chocolate chunks too because I didn't quite have a whole cup of chips. I ended up with a very moist, dense, and chocolatey cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
Why do people rate a recipe that they have changed? You are actually rating your own recipe. The reviews are useless if you are making changes and rating your own recipe. I made this cookie as is. I did not like the cookie. It seemed a little too salty to me and I used unsalted butter. I chilled the dough for an hour before putting on cookie sheets and made sure my cookie sheets were cooled down before putting more cookies on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ellen Ingle
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
I use parchment paper for easy cleanup and even browning. Excellent! Letting cool 5mins on cookie sheet is key to chewy cookie that doesn't fall apart before cool. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen Ingle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
This is going to be my go to oatmeal cookie, I just know it. The cookies were fat and soft and chewy. I ended up cooking them for a 2 minutes longer (14 minutes) in an oven that was 160 degrees rather than 165 as I was concerned about the bottoms and edges browning too much. The only thing I did to change the recipe was add more chocolate and I substituted the cup of walnuts for a cup of raw peanuts instead. The cookies turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
Great cookies! Made it with a few changes inspired by other reviews. I increased the flour to 1 3/4 cups, reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp, since I used salted butter. I omitted the nuts since my family are not fans. I put the cookie dough in the fridge for about 30 minutes before baking. Finally, through a few tries, I found that baking the cookies at 335 degrees for 18 minutes worked best for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charliegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Candiac, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
I read many reviews on this recipe before trying, however I felt that I should follow the actual recipe first to leave a ligit review. The only part of the recipe I changed was I omitted the nuts, because I didn't have any. The first cookie batch came out very flat and at 325 degrees for 12 minutes, underbaked. As the first batch cooked I put the remaining dough into the freezer to chill. The second batch I increased the heat to 335 degrees (per a previous reviewer's suggestion) and cooked for 12 minutes. they were a tiny bit better but not much. The cookies although flat did taste really good warm from the oven but would not last over 30 minutes before becoming very, very crunchy. My verdict is 3 stars as written. I would not serve these to anyone without adjustments. As previous reviewer's suggested I will increase the flour, and the baking soda as well as chill the dough. With the changes the results are fabulous and worth 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shystarr
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
I followed this recipe almost to the exact. The only thing I didn't do was add a teaspoon of salt. I never add the amount of salt a recipe calls for. I just sprinkled in a little. Mixed the wet ingredients with a hand mixer and then mixed in the dry ingredients to that with a mixer. The oatmeal, chocolate chips and walnuts I mixed in by hand. The recipe says to drop by spoonfuls but I rolled them into balls and then flattened them out a bit. I also cooked for 15 minutes instead of twelve. They did not come out flat. They were absolutely delicious. I'm not normally an oatmeal cookie lover but I am embarrassed to admit I ate five of these almost immediately after baking. I was so pleased With this recipe I even took some down to my neighbor. This is most definitely a keeper recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
BEST COOKIE RECIPE EVER! I replaced the butter with vegetable oil and the cookies were not flat. Not overly sweet and a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States