Chewy Caramel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I added the vanilla between steps 1 and 2, since it wasn't specified in the directions. Tastes good, but my batch seems a tad too soft; I'm going to try chilling it for a bit before attempting to cut and wrap peices. This recipe is definitely easy!! And not too messy; I'll probably try it again sometime and see if I can get the consistency right. Update: They are a smash hit at the office!! Everyone is raving about them. I chilled before wrapping, and then kept them refrigerated overnight--not one mention of them being too soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
YUM, I added the vanilla along with the other ingredients while bringing to boil came out great. Also added it between the first and second step as stated below works fine also. Dont think think you can screw this up unless you get the heat too high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I love this recipe! Only thing is, I've never understood the temperature given on the original. I always cook to about 254 or so on a very accurate thermometer, to make caramel squares that stay squares on their own for days, but still get chewy when you eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shoreline, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
it is too die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This was perfect. We used it to make caramel apples. We will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Awesome recipe! Very easy to make and it was my first time, too. I doubled the recipe and it was enough to coat around 25 medium sized apples. ( I used red/royal gala-can't remember what the name was) The caramel was yummy and the texture, I thought, really went well with the apples. By the way I made these caramel apples for 16 to 24 years old and they really snapped them up! I had left over caramel set and had them cut into cubes-and they were gobbled up too, and also by parents! The caramel colour was darker than what is found in stores but that didn't affect the flavour. Overall, I will do this recipe again. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Caramel was hard as a rock and I couldn't even get it out of the baking dish! Nice flavor of the chips I was able to chisel out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Delfzyl, Groningen, Netherlands
Living In: Wayzata, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I just wasn't impressed with this recipe. You may appreciate this recipe if you like softer caramel, but I prefer a more chewy caramel and this was too soft for my liking. It also tasted VERY strongly of brown sugar instead of the buttery, mellow flavor of caramel. It was easy to make and the directions were good. However, I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This caramel was PERFECT for making filled chocolates! I only used approx. 2/3 cup of corn syrup(All I had left!) and let it get to about 250 degrees. I let it set overnight and made the chocolates the next day. So delicious! I will DEFINATELY be making this again! One suggestion though- butter only the sides of the pan and place parchment paper on the bottom- You won't have a problem with it sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
These tasted SOOOO good! And they're very soft, perfect for coating in chocolate. I think I didn't cook them quite long enough, but I think they're great. I also added the vanilla between steps 1 & 2, after removing from heat since this recipe didn't specify when to add it. My only problem was getting the caramels out of the pan. I buttered it, but I still couldn't get them to come out. I had to pull out chunks and roll them with my hands. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States