Chewy Caramel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
So tasty. I warp in waxed paper to keep them soft. Wonderful, easy recipe. I make them every year for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randi T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
amazing!! make sure to take your time when cooking- DO NOT raise the temperature, keep it on medium heat! Follow directions, it will turn out perfect. It takes about 20 minutes to cook. I used waxed paper size: 2 1/2" x 4 1/2" to wrap. Perfect gift for holidays! Worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I never made candies because I thought it would be hard to do. But this was super easy & everyone loved it! Reminded me of Sugar Daddys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This was the best tasting caramel candy i've ever had~ The only reason that I am not giving it a 5 star rating, is because it wasn't quite hard enough for me. It was a bit soft. And I made sure to stick right to the recipe's temperature marker too, so either my candy thermometer isn't working correctly, (which very well could be...it's just a cheaper Wal Mart brand), or the temperature needs to be adjusted a bit higher. But, that's just for my taste...LOL What a delicious caramel though~ really love it~ :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Ok...this is NOT a soft, melt in your mouth caramel if you cook to the hard ball stage of 248 degrees! The caramel is hard and like another cook mentions "sugar daddy like". I was prying it out of my teeth! The flavor is good but I will try again at 230 degrees and update.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I wanted to comment because I think some reviewers are not quite accurate in their information. 1 pound of brown sugar does not in any way equal about 1 1/4 cups. If you will notice a 2 pound bag of sugar you buy from most any grocery store notes that it equals about 4 and 2/3 PACKED cups. I hope this helps future confectioners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
yummmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This recipe is even better than my mom's as it is a softer version. Make sure to cook above 235 for more than 3 minutes or it will be too soft. Never fear, though, as you can then use that batch as a sauce, and make another....I give these as gifts, and EVERYONE loves them! PS 1 pound is about 1 1/4 cups of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States