Chewy Caramel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Delicious, great flavor. I really recommend using half the butter though. especially if you are going to use this to make carameled apples because with this much butter it barely sticks to the apple. To cook the mixture i leave it on medium heat for about 8 minutes constantly stirring. I think the directions were a little confusing on that part. Just wait till its a little thick. I use a non stick pan which just makes it easier. If you are going to make apples roll the apples in the caramel right after you take it off the heat. Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
My dad makes these all the time, and I love them, in fact they're the only caramel I like! Love it! Chewy, buttery, sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inkmelilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, Virginia, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This was a wonderful, easy recipe. I followed the directions exactly, and it turned out perfectly. You need to make sure you have a good candy thermometer (cheap ones are too inconsistent).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Good recipe...but it didn't get hard. I had to keep it in the fridge & serve on spoons. Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I tried homemade caramel from a specialty shop and loved it but it was really expensive so I thought I would try making my own. I picked this recipe and am soooo glad I did. I have never made candy before and had to borrow a candy thermometer from my mom! *L* But this was super easy and from the rave reviews and requests for more that I have gotten, I'm not the only one who loves it! The only change I made was I cooked it up to the higher temp recommended by other reviewers and it turned out perfect. This recipe is a keeper!! Thanks so much for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
After many tries with store bought caramel with little success, I tried this recipe and it worked great for a recipe I make for homemade snickers candy. The caramel adhered to the nougat layer and the chocolate layer without coming apart like other caramel I've tried. This is a great recipe just as is and the 240 degrees works great for soft caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Awesome recipe! I halved it and used 1/2 cup each of butter and corn syrup, 1 cup brown sugar, and 1/2 can sweetened condensed milk. I also squeezed in a bit of honey just because. It took a while for it to get to the "soft ball" stage (probably 30ish minutes but I was patient and stirred it constantly). I then removed it from the heat and swirled granny smith apples on skewers around in it. After rolling the coated apples in chopped peanuts and then placing them in the freezer for about 10 minutes to set we had PERFECT caramel apples. Sliced two to eat and tightly wrapped the others in plastic wrap and placed in fridge. They kept well and were just as delicious the next few days! Just like the ones from the state fair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I just made a batch a few hours ago, and I LOVE this recipie. I have never worked with sugar before, and was Super worried about over heating it, but it turned out perfectly!! I will use this again and again, because it tastes so good (I snuck a few bites. It was vinilla-y butter-y yumm!!) Don't listen to the others who say it tastes bad, this is perfect! Just what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lunar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This Caramel was AMAZING!!!! I live in a small town and the only store we have didn't have caramel to make turtles. I found this recipe and fell in love. The turtles turned out great and there was a lot of caramel left over so I cut it up into pieces and froze it. I have since pulled some of it out when I needed caramel and it was still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Taylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corcoran, California, USA
Living In: Burney, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I didn't even entertain the idea of using scissors. I put the slab on a piece of wax paper and used a pizza cutter. It worked perfectly. I wasn't thrilled with the flavor of this recipe, but my mom loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States