Chewy Caramel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Ok...this is NOT a soft, melt in your mouth caramel if you cook to the hard ball stage of 248 degrees! The caramel is hard and like another cook mentions "sugar daddy like". I was prying it out of my teeth! The flavor is good but I will try again at 230 degrees and update.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I wanted to comment because I think some reviewers are not quite accurate in their information. 1 pound of brown sugar does not in any way equal about 1 1/4 cups. If you will notice a 2 pound bag of sugar you buy from most any grocery store notes that it equals about 4 and 2/3 PACKED cups. I hope this helps future confectioners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
yummmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This recipe is even better than my mom's as it is a softer version. Make sure to cook above 235 for more than 3 minutes or it will be too soft. Never fear, though, as you can then use that batch as a sauce, and make another....I give these as gifts, and EVERYONE loves them! PS 1 pound is about 1 1/4 cups of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
The perfect caramel. I added finely chopped toasted hazelnuts and it turned out superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
WONDERFUL!!!!! I cooked to 250 and refrigerated them for a couple hours before cutting. A wonderful addition to my Christmas platters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This recipe is exactly what I was looking for to make turtles! When it got to 240 degrees, I put a 2 minute timer on. At the end of the 2 minutes, it was around 250. This turned out perfect for what I needed. If you're looking to make caramel cubes, you'll definitely need to cook it to a higher temp, but for anything covered in chocolate - this is the recipe for you. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missmindi86

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Made these yesterday. Simple ingredients, lots of stirring and watching to 248. Easy to make! Here's the big change I made to the recipe, wanted to make this lactose free. Made condensed soy (out of soy milk) and used margarine. The caramels were delicious, sprinkled with kosher salt. Making for holiday gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe. It made incredible turtles. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
best tasting caramels I have ever tasted. It took a long time to cook to the right consistency-but cooked over low-medium heat. I sprayed scissors with Pam to prevent sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States