Chewy Caramel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
These are a big hit with my family and friends. I also sprinkle sea salt on them - even more delicious. Note - this is very soft caramel and sometimes I find it difficult to work with. I keep it very cold when cutting and wrapping and only cut up a little at a time. I've never been able to "cut with scissors" as the recipe notes, but a big knife and lots of wax paper does the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Definitely follow all the directions!!! It takes a very long time (around 20 min of continuous boiling) for this to come out perfect! Oh, make sure you grease your scissors with butter before you cut the caramel and DO use the scissors b/c a knife just doesn't work!!!!! Awesome results! I used dark brown sugar and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leesa
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Delicious and easy to make. HUGE hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Oh dear. This is heavenly. Not too many recipes impress me as much as this. I no longer have to spend $.050 per caramel. I have a new addiction. I followed the recipe exactly accept for one thing. I added some extra salt because I like salty caramel. Yum. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I've never made caramel before. fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
You can't eat just one. Oh so good. I only had 3/4 cup of corn syrup so I added 1/4 of honey. They turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Texas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I have made this recipe for 40+ years. I double the recipe and have not had any problems. It is almost fool proof as long as your thermometer is accurate. I check mine by placing in boiling water(it should read 212)and adjust accordingly. A long handled hi temp silicone spatula works the best for stirring. I line my pan with foil and butter the foil, it makes removal much easier. Variations: Add chopped nuts when you add the vanilla. Chocolate caramels, add 4 squares unsweetened baking chocolate, chopped(for a double batch) after adding the vanilla. Stir until chocolate is melted and well blended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Well, I can't tell you what went right with this recipe but I can tell you what NOT to do...don't substitute heavy cream for sweetened condensed milk. Heavy cream has more oil and the oil seeps out while the caramel is hardening and its awful. It also must increase the time needed to cook since it took FOREVER -maybe it dilutes the protein content of the carmel. Don't put new dish washing gloves on the kids so they can pull the caramel. It sticks and is really really messy (although it was hilarious). Don't put it in a smallish pan as it will grow as it boils and want to boil over. Hmm what else did we do wrong? I think that's it -first time to try this and I don't dare blame the recipe -maybe I should have followed it!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I have been using this recipe to make Christmas gifts for family and friends for a few years now. It is a HUGE hit with everyone! Absolutely delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
These were delicious! I had to use rice syrup instead of corn, but it didn't change the flavor at all so they came out SO YUMMY! Key with this is to go slow. I'm impatient so had to really hold back from increasing the temp. It slowly but surely got to the proper temp though. Next time, I think I'm going to heat it just a little longer. Soft ball texture is delicious and melts in your mouth, but I'd like it to be just a little more chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States