Chewy Caramel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I have made this recipe for 40+ years. I double the recipe and have not had any problems. It is almost fool proof as long as your thermometer is accurate. I check mine by placing in boiling water(it should read 212)and adjust accordingly. A long handled hi temp silicone spatula works the best for stirring. I line my pan with foil and butter the foil, it makes removal much easier. Variations: Add chopped nuts when you add the vanilla. Chocolate caramels, add 4 squares unsweetened baking chocolate, chopped(for a double batch) after adding the vanilla. Stir until chocolate is melted and well blended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Well, I can't tell you what went right with this recipe but I can tell you what NOT to do...don't substitute heavy cream for sweetened condensed milk. Heavy cream has more oil and the oil seeps out while the caramel is hardening and its awful. It also must increase the time needed to cook since it took FOREVER -maybe it dilutes the protein content of the carmel. Don't put new dish washing gloves on the kids so they can pull the caramel. It sticks and is really really messy (although it was hilarious). Don't put it in a smallish pan as it will grow as it boils and want to boil over. Hmm what else did we do wrong? I think that's it -first time to try this and I don't dare blame the recipe -maybe I should have followed it!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I have been using this recipe to make Christmas gifts for family and friends for a few years now. It is a HUGE hit with everyone! Absolutely delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
These were delicious! I had to use rice syrup instead of corn, but it didn't change the flavor at all so they came out SO YUMMY! Key with this is to go slow. I'm impatient so had to really hold back from increasing the temp. It slowly but surely got to the proper temp though. Next time, I think I'm going to heat it just a little longer. Soft ball texture is delicious and melts in your mouth, but I'd like it to be just a little more chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Super easy to make and way delicious. My first attempt at making caramels was a success thanks to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I just got through letting this cool, and oh my gosh! I LOVE IT! I redid the recipe for 20 servings instead of 32. And cooked it the "Hard Ball" Stage so that I could work with it better later. It's amazing in my opinion. Buttery, rich, creamy, and almost nutty in flavor. Best caramel I've ever had, by far. I will never buy Caramel candies again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisajarrett09
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I used this caramel recipe for caramel apples and was VERY impressed with how they turned out. The caramel sets up very quickly, so next time I am going to make sure I have the nuts chopped up before I dip the apples. I had to press the nuts and M&Ms into the caramel because I thought I would have more time. Live and learn, but I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajarrett09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Awesome recipe! I used Evaporated milk instead and worked fine. Also used low fat margarine. Just boiled a bit longer at a lower temp for a few mins first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This recipe has been in our family for over 20 years as "Easy Microwave Caramels". Use a 2 quart microwave safe bowl. Mix the ingredients, pop into the microwave for 2 minutes, stir, cook 2 more minutes, stir, then cook for about 12 - 14 minutes (no need to stir) until it reaches 245 degrees. At that point, I test every minute until it is done. So much easier and faster than cooking it on the stove and it doesn't burn. My recipe says let it sit 10 minutes when it comes out of the microwave, stirring a couple of times, before pouring into the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States