Chewy Caramel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Exceptional buttery taste and it melts in your mouth. Limited to four stars because I like recipes that are hard for me to screw up. This candy recipe requires pretty precise temperatures to get the consistency and it took several batches to get right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I made these exactly as written, they taste GREAT, but are very chewy, almost too soft, unless you refrigerate them- this helps harden them some! Great recipe, makes a lot if you wrap them individually!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I thought that these were wonderful! I followed the directions just as they are and ALL was perfect! Thank you so much for sharing ~ I'm making a second batch tomorrow! Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This is WONDERFUL! I made 2 pounds and wrapped some and use the rest for pecan and cashew turtles. There was none left. It has a praline type taste to it. I will definitely be making this for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Hubby and I thought this was divine! It took me a couple times to make sure I got it all right....needed the candy thermometer-and had to make sure I kept boiling at the 240 temp for 3 minutes. I will be giving this as gifts every Christmas!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom2*4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I followed the advice of others and cooked the caramel to 248 degrees. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly as written and it was amazing. Everyone loves it... we will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
The most amazing caramel ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
First time making caramels, turned out great! Cooked til 248 degrees. Helps to very lightly butter the squares of wax paper so they do not stick when wrapping themup. My new holiday tradition. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
So simple to make. I liked the suggestion of using scissors to cut it with. I sprinkled with a little course sea salt for a sweet and salty treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey Dalbey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Ok, I can't believe I have been paying $10.00 a lb. for these at my local Chocolate store. Wow, chewy and yummy. Get them wrapped in wax paper right away or you will eat the whole pan. These were much easier then I thought and actually had every item in my pantry. The most time consuming part is wrapping them but worth it. what a great christmas gift these will make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KKOSCH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States