Chewy Caramel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
amazing!! make sure to take your time when cooking- DO NOT raise the temperature, keep it on medium heat! Follow directions, it will turn out perfect. It takes about 20 minutes to cook. I used waxed paper size: 2 1/2" x 4 1/2" to wrap. Perfect gift for holidays! Worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I never made candies because I thought it would be hard to do. But this was super easy & everyone loved it! Reminded me of Sugar Daddys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This was the best tasting caramel candy i've ever had~ The only reason that I am not giving it a 5 star rating, is because it wasn't quite hard enough for me. It was a bit soft. And I made sure to stick right to the recipe's temperature marker too, so either my candy thermometer isn't working correctly, (which very well could be...it's just a cheaper Wal Mart brand), or the temperature needs to be adjusted a bit higher. But, that's just for my taste...LOL What a delicious caramel though~ really love it~ :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Ok...this is NOT a soft, melt in your mouth caramel if you cook to the hard ball stage of 248 degrees! The caramel is hard and like another cook mentions "sugar daddy like". I was prying it out of my teeth! The flavor is good but I will try again at 230 degrees and update.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I wanted to comment because I think some reviewers are not quite accurate in their information. 1 pound of brown sugar does not in any way equal about 1 1/4 cups. If you will notice a 2 pound bag of sugar you buy from most any grocery store notes that it equals about 4 and 2/3 PACKED cups. I hope this helps future confectioners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
yummmmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This recipe is even better than my mom's as it is a softer version. Make sure to cook above 235 for more than 3 minutes or it will be too soft. Never fear, though, as you can then use that batch as a sauce, and make another....I give these as gifts, and EVERYONE loves them! PS 1 pound is about 1 1/4 cups of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
The perfect caramel. I added finely chopped toasted hazelnuts and it turned out superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
WONDERFUL!!!!! I cooked to 250 and refrigerated them for a couple hours before cutting. A wonderful addition to my Christmas platters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States