Chewy Caramel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
Turned out perfect! And my candy thermometer was broken so had to guess when to take it off the heat. I like them chewy so loved how they turned out. Just FYI there is 130 calories per piece if you get 45 pieces out of a batch. Worth every calorie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
I followed the directions to a T. The temperature specified made for too soft of a caramel; they do not hold shape at all. Also, the biggest reason for my rating is that the flavor of the condensed milk stood WAY out and they are wicked sweet. These taste just like brown sugar stirred into sweetened condensed milk. I love caramels and sweets, but this recipe isn't for me, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
This is not a chewy caramel its a creamy and soft caramel candy. It tastes wonderful and has a Very rich taste. Maybe if you boil it to a higher temp. such as 250 or more it may be chewy. I will put it over popcorn and it will be very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I have made this recipe 5-6 times. Must cook to 248 to 250. I usually double, then brown sugar is a whole 2 lb bag, 1 16 oz bottle of corn syrup, no need to measure. I also add 2 tsp of vanilla rather than 1 1/2 tsp. Gets gobbled up at home, work, neighbors, wherever you bring them. Takes about 35 min on med-low heat and a strong arm for stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Very easy and delicious. Used this to make home made turtles. Better than the original ones. I used dark brown sugar for a more molasses taste. These are a huge hit at Christmas or anytime of year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
The first time I made this recipe, I let it cook for the 2 minutes once it reached 234 degrees. This made the caramel harder when cooled but becomes chewy once you put it in your mouth. The next time I removed it as soon as it hit 234 and it was chewy. I shared it at work and everyone loved it! If you cut but don't wrap it, it will all melt back together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan Zimmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I have tried sooo many different recipes. I am in love with these. Thank you for the tip about how to make them more chewy too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
These we're my first attempt at candy making and I was very pleased. I ended up putting the caramel in the freezer before attempting to cut it up into bite sized pieces. I used wax paper for wrapping. Thank you for posting this recipe,absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rogers28
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This recipe has amazing flavor and was easy to make. However, it did NOT come out as caramel candies, despite the fact that I took the advice of others and heated it to 250*. We'll use it for a caramel sauce and call it good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Good easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Cramer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States