Chewy Caramel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This recipe is excellent and easy to make. The caramel is rich, buttery and just plain fantastic! I have been making it strictly for caramel apples (soft ball stage), and it stays on the apple even when loaded with nuts, candies, etc. Everyone who tried it was just raving about it. *Tip: 1 lb of brown sugar = 2 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
404 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I love this recipe! Only thing is, I've never understood the temperature given on the original. I always cook to about 254 or so on a very accurate thermometer, to make caramel squares that stay squares on their own for days, but still get chewy when you eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shoreline, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This caramel was PERFECT for making filled chocolates! I only used approx. 2/3 cup of corn syrup(All I had left!) and let it get to about 250 degrees. I let it set overnight and made the chocolates the next day. So delicious! I will DEFINATELY be making this again! One suggestion though- butter only the sides of the pan and place parchment paper on the bottom- You won't have a problem with it sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I added the vanilla between steps 1 and 2, since it wasn't specified in the directions. Tastes good, but my batch seems a tad too soft; I'm going to try chilling it for a bit before attempting to cut and wrap peices. This recipe is definitely easy!! And not too messy; I'll probably try it again sometime and see if I can get the consistency right. Update: They are a smash hit at the office!! Everyone is raving about them. I chilled before wrapping, and then kept them refrigerated overnight--not one mention of them being too soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This recipe IS WONDERFUL !! I cooked it to firm ball stage about 248 ( about 20 min). It is a very easy recipe that will impress family and friends. I omitted the vanilla and used dark brown sugar. I also used an 8x8 pan instead of the 9x13 as I like thicker pieces of caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I just wasn't impressed with this recipe. You may appreciate this recipe if you like softer caramel, but I prefer a more chewy caramel and this was too soft for my liking. It also tasted VERY strongly of brown sugar instead of the buttery, mellow flavor of caramel. It was easy to make and the directions were good. However, I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This recipe rocks !! The first time I made it the carmel did'nt hold it's shape but was still good. The next time I made it I cooked it to firm ball stage about 248 ( about 20 min).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
The taste of this recipe is awesome! One fault that I had, I forgot to put the vanilla. It doesn't even need it. Next time I would definitly cook til 245-250F. It was still a little soft. I rolled it into balls and used on turtles. I will make again, but will cook longer so that they can be wrapped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alum Creek, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
Delicious! This recipe is a big hit with friends and family. It is a no-fail recipe. I follow the recipe as written, alhtough I always add the vanilla during the last minute or two of cooking time before transferring to a 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
YUM, I added the vanilla along with the other ingredients while bringing to boil came out great. Also added it between the first and second step as stated below works fine also. Dont think think you can screw this up unless you get the heat too high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States