Chewy Caramel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by SHELLBELL
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Only change was I used white sugar as I didn't have any brown! I also didn't use a candy thermometer, just used the soft ball test and it turned out great! I had no issues with it setting up and yes it is chewy, hence then name chewy caramel! It was SOOOOO good, creamy, chewy, sweet and terrible for my belly! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLBELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libby, Montana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This recipe is amazing and so simple! I didn't have vanilla but it didn't need it. I've made this recipe twice now and both times were just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Delicious, great flavor. I really recommend using half the butter though. especially if you are going to use this to make carameled apples because with this much butter it barely sticks to the apple. To cook the mixture i leave it on medium heat for about 8 minutes constantly stirring. I think the directions were a little confusing on that part. Just wait till its a little thick. I use a non stick pan which just makes it easier. If you are going to make apples roll the apples in the caramel right after you take it off the heat. Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
My dad makes these all the time, and I love them, in fact they're the only caramel I like! Love it! Chewy, buttery, sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inkmelilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, Virginia, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This was a wonderful, easy recipe. I followed the directions exactly, and it turned out perfectly. You need to make sure you have a good candy thermometer (cheap ones are too inconsistent).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Good recipe...but it didn't get hard. I had to keep it in the fridge & serve on spoons. Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I tried homemade caramel from a specialty shop and loved it but it was really expensive so I thought I would try making my own. I picked this recipe and am soooo glad I did. I have never made candy before and had to borrow a candy thermometer from my mom! *L* But this was super easy and from the rave reviews and requests for more that I have gotten, I'm not the only one who loves it! The only change I made was I cooked it up to the higher temp recommended by other reviewers and it turned out perfect. This recipe is a keeper!! Thanks so much for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
After many tries with store bought caramel with little success, I tried this recipe and it worked great for a recipe I make for homemade snickers candy. The caramel adhered to the nougat layer and the chocolate layer without coming apart like other caramel I've tried. This is a great recipe just as is and the 240 degrees works great for soft caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Awesome recipe! I halved it and used 1/2 cup each of butter and corn syrup, 1 cup brown sugar, and 1/2 can sweetened condensed milk. I also squeezed in a bit of honey just because. It took a while for it to get to the "soft ball" stage (probably 30ish minutes but I was patient and stirred it constantly). I then removed it from the heat and swirled granny smith apples on skewers around in it. After rolling the coated apples in chopped peanuts and then placing them in the freezer for about 10 minutes to set we had PERFECT caramel apples. Sliced two to eat and tightly wrapped the others in plastic wrap and placed in fridge. They kept well and were just as delicious the next few days! Just like the ones from the state fair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I just made a batch a few hours ago, and I LOVE this recipie. I have never worked with sugar before, and was Super worried about over heating it, but it turned out perfectly!! I will use this again and again, because it tastes so good (I snuck a few bites. It was vinilla-y butter-y yumm!!) Don't listen to the others who say it tastes bad, this is perfect! Just what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lunar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States