Chewy Caramel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Awesome Caramels! Followed others reviewers suggestions. Butter only sides of pan, place parchment on bottom Cooks about 20 mins at temp of 248
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Delicious! I am lactose intolerant so I used a banana instead of butter, and a customized version of condensed milk (I boil agave nectar and soymilk) and this is amazing! Mine has a hint of banana of course but that doesn't take away from the taste at all, really fantastic recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Pretty good tasting caramel. I don't really know what I'm doing when it comes to caramel, I have had so many disasters in the past. I used this recipe to cover apples and it worked wonderfully, it didnt drip off the sides. I think it helps if your apples are cool, and you can hold and twirl them patiently as the caramel cools to the apple before setting it down. This recipe produced twice as much caramel as i needed (covered 9 small/medium apples, AND I had enough to pour a thin layer into a 9x9 inch pan) which brings me to another comment... I thought it turned out to be a good chewiness for candy, not too soft. I followed the temp. suggestion, maybe a little lower 225-230, but i dont know 1. how long it took me to get there- a while 20 minutes maybe because i was being tentative, 2. how accurate my candy thermometer is, 3. If my altitude 3400 ft affects this process... But I was happy with the result
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
They're a little soft, but that may be my doing (this is my first time making caramels). I added about half a tsp of cardamom and they are DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ziegfeldgirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA
Living In: Vienna, Wien, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
These were good you can replace the corn syrup for honey its way better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I have made this caramel recipe twice now. The first time, I followed the recipe almost exactly (had to adjust boiling time for altitude). It was perfect!! The second time, I substituted 1 cup honey instead of the light corn syrup. Again, Perfect!!!! The honey gives it a heartier or more wholesome flavor. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
so good! I made it 1 time, but i must make it again!!!!!!!! only it need's a little less Corn Syrup.. but yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eleora

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This tasted delicious! It was a little soft, so to make them taste perfect, store the caramels in the fridge and then they are perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
yummmmmmmmy. Cooked till just under 250.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This makes the BEST Carmel Apples EVER! Follow the recipe exactly as shown and you WON'T be dissapointed! All my neighbors KILL for this when I make apples each year! Anyone who rates this less than 5 stars is NOT following the instructions!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States