Chewy Caramel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
WOW, very easy & very good. Followed recipe as is & turned out great. Thank you so much for sharing, this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This is the exact same recipe from my Homes and Garden Cookbook I received for a wedding gift in 1976. I can't believe there are any criticisms for this recipe. If you want harder carmels cook them to the firm ball stage instead of soft ball. Dah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
These are good but time consuming to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I have made this recipe for years and have always been happy with the great taste but it definitely needs to cook to hard ball stage. Best way to check the firmness is to do a cold water test when it gets close to the 248/250 degree stage. Caution - this must be stirred constantly or it will scorch and burn. People are always surprised that making caramels takes much longer to cook than most recipes indicate. Slow and steady makes great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ilovebaking22
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I make this recipe every single year!!!!! I don't even like store bought caramels, and I can't get enough of these! This year, I decided to try sprinkling some sea salt on top of the mixture as soon as it was in the pan.... It made them even better! Next I'm going to try dipping them in milk chocolate, and then sprinkling them with sea salt... YUMMO!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovebaking22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Porterville, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Awesome Caramels! Followed others reviewers suggestions. Butter only sides of pan, place parchment on bottom Cooks about 20 mins at temp of 248
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Delicious! I am lactose intolerant so I used a banana instead of butter, and a customized version of condensed milk (I boil agave nectar and soymilk) and this is amazing! Mine has a hint of banana of course but that doesn't take away from the taste at all, really fantastic recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Pretty good tasting caramel. I don't really know what I'm doing when it comes to caramel, I have had so many disasters in the past. I used this recipe to cover apples and it worked wonderfully, it didnt drip off the sides. I think it helps if your apples are cool, and you can hold and twirl them patiently as the caramel cools to the apple before setting it down. This recipe produced twice as much caramel as i needed (covered 9 small/medium apples, AND I had enough to pour a thin layer into a 9x9 inch pan) which brings me to another comment... I thought it turned out to be a good chewiness for candy, not too soft. I followed the temp. suggestion, maybe a little lower 225-230, but i dont know 1. how long it took me to get there- a while 20 minutes maybe because i was being tentative, 2. how accurate my candy thermometer is, 3. If my altitude 3400 ft affects this process... But I was happy with the result
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
They're a little soft, but that may be my doing (this is my first time making caramels). I added about half a tsp of cardamom and they are DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ziegfeldgirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA
Living In: Vienna, Wien, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
These were good you can replace the corn syrup for honey its way better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States