Chewy Caramel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I tried this for the first time tonight. I went exactly by the recipe. It turned out so good. My husband and I almost made ourselves sick eating them. It is certainly, by far, better than any store bought caramels I have ever tasted. I Love This Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suetoyou

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rolesville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Chuckey, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I used all organic ingredients for this recipe. I used butter not margarine & brown rice syrup not corn syrup & it turned out fantastic. I wanted to use this caramel for my turtles & they turned out fantastic. With the leftover caramel, I first refrigerated it & then cut it into squares & covered them w/chocolate & they were fantastic! Everyone is raving over these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vcessar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
My dad first cooked these, and until he perfected them I didn't like them (not a suprise for someone who doesn't like caramel), but coming straight out of the pan after the batch has been poured, heaven! I have attempted to make these myself only once and disaster, but I will keep trying, to be able to have these and make them whenever I wanted. Heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsey0921

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Excellent! Only thing needing a tweak was the temp. It needs to be 248-250. Rich, creamy, chewy, just plain yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meesters Girly
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I have been making this recipe for years and everyone ask for them and wants more. I always do a double batch which eliminates the measuring for me because it is 1 lb butter 1 small bottle corn syrup 1 2lb bag brown sugar 2 cans sweeten condensed milk a dash of salt and splash of vanilla after you remove from heat. For those that said it didn't need the vanilla it is so much better with it try it again with it I have forgotten before and they are still good but much better with it. My sister said these are even better then her friends that have won awards for theirs so there you go. So i am telling you this is the only caramel recipe that you need!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterman, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Exceptional buttery taste and it melts in your mouth. Limited to four stars because I like recipes that are hard for me to screw up. This candy recipe requires pretty precise temperatures to get the consistency and it took several batches to get right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I made these exactly as written, they taste GREAT, but are very chewy, almost too soft, unless you refrigerate them- this helps harden them some! Great recipe, makes a lot if you wrap them individually!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I thought that these were wonderful! I followed the directions just as they are and ALL was perfect! Thank you so much for sharing ~ I'm making a second batch tomorrow! Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This is WONDERFUL! I made 2 pounds and wrapped some and use the rest for pecan and cashew turtles. There was none left. It has a praline type taste to it. I will definitely be making this for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Hubby and I thought this was divine! It took me a couple times to make sure I got it all right....needed the candy thermometer-and had to make sure I kept boiling at the 240 temp for 3 minutes. I will be giving this as gifts every Christmas!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom2*4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States