Chewy Caramel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
WOW!! Delicious. Soft. Chewy. Buttery. Heaven. I cooked it to 242 and used it for a few caramel apples. I had some leftover so a sprayed a bowl with Pam and poured it in and let it cool. I was later able to dump it in a crockpot, heat on low and used it again when I did more. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woods Cross, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
we made SEVERAL types of caramels this year and this was the only one to turn out perfect! a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This is very easy and very good. I would not call this "soft" caramel, though. This turns out exactly like the prewrapped Kraft Caramels. That was fine, but next time I will stop a little lower on the thermometer. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CG
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
wonderful! few adjustments. cooked to 248 as others suggested and added 2 tsp vanilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monstermom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This probably deserves more than 3 stars, but I had a disaster. I must have boiled the ingredients too long, even though I followed reviewers advice of "about 20 minutes" (I have no candy thermometer.) I ended up with the texture of sugar daddy suckers-- aka WAY too hard of caramel. I wasn't able to cut through it, so microwaved it with plenty of non-dairy creamer and was able to make a sauce to go in brownies. Scared to try this again, but if I do succeed next time, the rating will go up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I tried this for the first time tonight. I went exactly by the recipe. It turned out so good. My husband and I almost made ourselves sick eating them. It is certainly, by far, better than any store bought caramels I have ever tasted. I Love This Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suetoyou

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rolesville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Chuckey, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I used all organic ingredients for this recipe. I used butter not margarine & brown rice syrup not corn syrup & it turned out fantastic. I wanted to use this caramel for my turtles & they turned out fantastic. With the leftover caramel, I first refrigerated it & then cut it into squares & covered them w/chocolate & they were fantastic! Everyone is raving over these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vcessar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
My dad first cooked these, and until he perfected them I didn't like them (not a suprise for someone who doesn't like caramel), but coming straight out of the pan after the batch has been poured, heaven! I have attempted to make these myself only once and disaster, but I will keep trying, to be able to have these and make them whenever I wanted. Heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsey0921

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Excellent! Only thing needing a tweak was the temp. It needs to be 248-250. Rich, creamy, chewy, just plain yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meesters Girly
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I have been making this recipe for years and everyone ask for them and wants more. I always do a double batch which eliminates the measuring for me because it is 1 lb butter 1 small bottle corn syrup 1 2lb bag brown sugar 2 cans sweeten condensed milk a dash of salt and splash of vanilla after you remove from heat. For those that said it didn't need the vanilla it is so much better with it try it again with it I have forgotten before and they are still good but much better with it. My sister said these are even better then her friends that have won awards for theirs so there you go. So i am telling you this is the only caramel recipe that you need!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterman, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States