Chewy Caramel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe to use for caramel apples. I've used it several times and always turns out great. You have to be extremely careful to watch towards the end because a few extra degrees can make for harder, darker caramel. I've made them for several people, and several people have said they were the best caramel apples they've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This was soooo good! I read through the reviews, and decided to use white sugar instead of brown. It taste's just like store bought caramels! Maybe even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This is a very delicious and easy recipe to make. I would recommend the use of a candy thermometer in order to get the best end consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
AWESOME! Definately a Soft caramel lovers caramel, very creamy and buttery. I could barely stop myself from eating all of them at once and everyone I gave them to had the same reaction. By the way This was my first time making caramels and I had no problem. I don't even have a candy thermometer, i just let it come to a boil continued stirring and took off the heat when I noticed the mixture had thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I am giving it a 4 only because I screwed up...so, it could have been a 5 if I were a bit braver! I let it reach 'soft ball' temp as written on my candy thermometer (which is 230 deg. F), and kept on stirring for 2 minutes. But it looked like it was going to boil over at any second. Well if at any moment I looked away, and didn't stir, it would have boiled over. So I figured, it can't possibly get any higher than this and took it off the stove. Instead of being chewy, my caramel came out gooey ;) But, it was okay...it became chocolate filling, and it was still delicious! I am definitely going to try it again...but will be a while since I have sooo much gooey caramel!! And this stuff ain't exactly kind to your hips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cedre

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
When I read the recipe, people said that the caramel was too soft... I was like "Well how can caramel bee TOO soft ?!" I made the caramel, and it was fantastic ! I do know what people mean by too soft now, but these caramels were still excellent ! This would be good for other candies, and caramel apples and stuff like that ! I found this recipe very easy ! Thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I really like this recipe. I worked in a bakery for years and made hundreds of batches of caramel and this recipe is the closest ive found.You can also easily turn it into caramel sauce by melting it in a sauce pan and adding a bit of heavy cream. it keeps forever in the fridge, not that it will last very long its Delicious!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julee25

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
WOW!! Delicious. Soft. Chewy. Buttery. Heaven. I cooked it to 242 and used it for a few caramel apples. I had some leftover so a sprayed a bowl with Pam and poured it in and let it cool. I was later able to dump it in a crockpot, heat on low and used it again when I did more. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woods Cross, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
we made SEVERAL types of caramels this year and this was the only one to turn out perfect! a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This is very easy and very good. I would not call this "soft" caramel, though. This turns out exactly like the prewrapped Kraft Caramels. That was fine, but next time I will stop a little lower on the thermometer. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CG

Displaying results 121-130 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States