Chewy Caramel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I saw this and went straight and made it. Very easy and very good. Rich, good, great texture, good, so easy to make and did I mention good? !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delores J Ward

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Love this recipe, I too went higher (254 degrees for 2 minutes) and it came out perfect. I wanted to make square caramels that would hold their shape and these do. This was my first attempt at making caramel, I'm about to make a second batch now! Just sinful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
These caramels were easy and delicious -- I made them for gifts and they were perfect (except we almost ate them all before giving them away)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I just made this for the first time and it is so very good. The only adjustment I made was to the cooking temp. Caramel should be cooked to the firm ball state (248 degrees). Soft ball (240) would leave it to mushy and hard ball (260) to hard. Note too that you have to stir this CONTINUOUSLY from start to finish. I walked away for 30 seconds to get a drink before it had even reached a boil and it scorched just enough to leave some dark flecks in it (luckily I don't think it affected the flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I made this recipe a month ago w/o the corn syrup and it was so much more tastier than this time when I used only a half cup of corn syrup. I say ditch the corn syrup, its much better that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe to use for caramel apples. I've used it several times and always turns out great. You have to be extremely careful to watch towards the end because a few extra degrees can make for harder, darker caramel. I've made them for several people, and several people have said they were the best caramel apples they've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This was soooo good! I read through the reviews, and decided to use white sugar instead of brown. It taste's just like store bought caramels! Maybe even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
This is a very delicious and easy recipe to make. I would recommend the use of a candy thermometer in order to get the best end consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
AWESOME! Definately a Soft caramel lovers caramel, very creamy and buttery. I could barely stop myself from eating all of them at once and everyone I gave them to had the same reaction. By the way This was my first time making caramels and I had no problem. I don't even have a candy thermometer, i just let it come to a boil continued stirring and took off the heat when I noticed the mixture had thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I am giving it a 4 only because I screwed up...so, it could have been a 5 if I were a bit braver! I let it reach 'soft ball' temp as written on my candy thermometer (which is 230 deg. F), and kept on stirring for 2 minutes. But it looked like it was going to boil over at any second. Well if at any moment I looked away, and didn't stir, it would have boiled over. So I figured, it can't possibly get any higher than this and took it off the stove. Instead of being chewy, my caramel came out gooey ;) But, it was okay...it became chocolate filling, and it was still delicious! I am definitely going to try it again...but will be a while since I have sooo much gooey caramel!! And this stuff ain't exactly kind to your hips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cedre

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States