Chewy Caramel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Made these yesterday. Simple ingredients, lots of stirring and watching to 248. Easy to make! Here's the big change I made to the recipe, wanted to make this lactose free. Made condensed soy (out of soy milk) and used margarine. The caramels were delicious, sprinkled with kosher salt. Making for holiday gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe. It made incredible turtles. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
best tasting caramels I have ever tasted. It took a long time to cook to the right consistency-but cooked over low-medium heat. I sprayed scissors with Pam to prevent sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
OMG!!! This was such an easy recipe to follow!! I have never made caramel before, so this was my first time and it came out PERFECT! I don't understand how anyone could not like this recipe! Yum yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
My favorite caramel recipe, we went to 240 and then took it off the heat and stirred and it was the perfect consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This recipe is great! The caramel turned out very rich and buttery, and it's easy to make. Mmm mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elcho, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Awesome. I cooked until 250 and sprinkled top lightly with fleur de sal once I poured into the pan. Turned out wonderful. Soft & chewy, but hold their shaper and aren't overly stringy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Excellent recipe for caramel. I used it to make caramel apples with and it was wonderful. I boiled my apples for 10 mins then let them cool before dipping. (The caramel didn't want to stick to the apples because of the wax on them). It makes a lot of caramel. I made 2 batches and it did 22 apples with some left over. I actual dipped my apples twice. Once, then I let them cool and then one more time afterwards. The apples came out very thick with the caramel. This is definently a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SavedByGrace
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Delicious! I used it to make caramel apples and I could have made 8-10 small-medium apples. My advice for others doing this...1) the caramel needs to be cooked past the soft ball stage. When left to sit at room temp the caramel started sliding off the apples. I'd suggest firm ball stage. 2) Let the caramel COOL a bit before starting to dip your apples. I put mine in the freezer first then dipped them and the first 2 all of the caramel just pooled at the bottom. 3) After you dip hold them in the air for a minute or so twirling them to let the caramel set, then roll in nuts or set on greased wax paper in the fridge/freezer to harden the caramel thoroughly. My husband said these were the best caramel apples he has ever had, and he LOVES caramel apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavedByGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Chewy, caramelly deliciousness! I used this caramel for caramel apples (and the leftovers were used to dip a few chocolate sandwich cookies :-D. I too cooked mine a little bit longer (about 245F? My thermometer is a little off, so I use the cold water test. I cooked the caramel until it formed a firm ball that holds its shape on my finger, but can be squished).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States