Chewy Caramel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
My recipe I have used for 37 years is similar with the exception that my caramels needs to cook until a firm ball stage. Yes I use cold water and a drop or two of sauce to decide if it's done. Easier than the candy thermometer. I also add nuts and cranraisins when the mood hits me. But by far the sea salt caramels are truly everyone's favorite. Just dust with sea salt before they set. Hope that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry L Fraser

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tomahawk, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Very easy and delicious. Used this to make home made turtles. Better than the original ones. I used dark brown sugar for a more molasses taste. These are a huge hit at Christmas or anytime of year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
The first time I made this recipe, I let it cook for the 2 minutes once it reached 234 degrees. This made the caramel harder when cooled but becomes chewy once you put it in your mouth. The next time I removed it as soon as it hit 234 and it was chewy. I shared it at work and everyone loved it! If you cut but don't wrap it, it will all melt back together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I have tried sooo many different recipes. I am in love with these. Thank you for the tip about how to make them more chewy too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
These we're my first attempt at candy making and I was very pleased. I ended up putting the caramel in the freezer before attempting to cut it up into bite sized pieces. I used wax paper for wrapping. Thank you for posting this recipe,absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rogers28
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This recipe has amazing flavor and was easy to make. However, it did NOT come out as caramel candies, despite the fact that I took the advice of others and heated it to 250*. We'll use it for a caramel sauce and call it good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Good easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Cramer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
This is my go to caramel! I love to cook it a touch longer and then coat apples with the sticky goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcarling

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
the only reason this recipe didn't get 5 stars is because I did something wrong. still tasted great but it came out lumpy. it wasn't gritty just lumpy... going to try it again later so if anyone has an idea of where I went wrong please let me know
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie Hughes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This caramel is the best! It is smooth, rich, and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States