Chewy Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Way too SWEET!!!!!!!!!!!! But the next time I changed the proportion of ingredients and it was really good. Here is my revised recipe: 1 package yellow cake mix. I use Duncan Hines Butter recipe. 1/2 cup butter,melted. 4 eggs. 8 oz cream cheese, softened. 3/4 cup powdered sugar. And this is not a mistake; only 3/4 cup. 1 tsp each vanilla and lemon flavoring. In a large mixing bowl, combine yellow cake mix, melted margarine, and 2 beaten eggs. Pour into a greased and floured 13"x9" cake pan. Please note that the cake mix mixture will have the consistency of a dough more so than a cake, so it will be kind of thick. You can use a spatula to spread it. In a blender or food processor, combine softened cream cheese, powdered sugar, 2 beaten eggs; vanilla/lemon .... flavorings (to taste). Pour over the cake mixture. Bake 40 to 45 minutes, or until golden. You can use a 13X9 pyrex or 2 squared foil pans (about 8x8) . You can also cut into small squares and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
Did I do something wrong? The cake was tasty,but the top had a crisp crust, and the center was too gooey. It had the consistency of uncooked cake batter. Yuck! I made it exactly as instructed, and baked it for the appropriate time. I had to throw it away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2002
This was pretty good although it was more like a brownie than cake. Be sure to let this cool COMPLETELY before cutting or it appears to be gooey. Otherwise, it's great!!! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
OH THIS ONE IS IT, THE TASTE IS OUTSTANDING, VERY RICH BUT VERY GOOD, TYR IT YOU WILL LOVE IT GLENDA~TEXAS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
Rich and gooey and YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
I made this for my husband at work. He said everyone loved it. I substituted chocolate cake for yellow and added milk chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
This recipe is so easy to make and an excellent desert to bring to a potluck or social gathering. Very yummy, forget about dieting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
We werent crazy about it ... maybe I did something wrong. It was ok, just not great. I think I would enjoy it more with a chocolate mix.. or maybe lemon??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2001
This is an amazingly versatile recipe, and a big hit whenever I bring it into work. Experiment using different flavors of cake mix such as chocolate sprinkled with mini M&M's (DECADENT!) lemon, or even strawberry as I tried today. You'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2001
A big hit at a recent family gathering. Delicious, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Molten Peanut Butter Lava Cake

Switch up your classic chocolate molten lava cake with a peanut butter version!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States