Chewy Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Way too SWEET!!!!!!!!!!!! But the next time I changed the proportion of ingredients and it was really good. Here is my revised recipe: 1 package yellow cake mix. I use Duncan Hines Butter recipe. 1/2 cup butter,melted. 4 eggs. 8 oz cream cheese, softened. 3/4 cup powdered sugar. And this is not a mistake; only 3/4 cup. 1 tsp each vanilla and lemon flavoring. In a large mixing bowl, combine yellow cake mix, melted margarine, and 2 beaten eggs. Pour into a greased and floured 13"x9" cake pan. Please note that the cake mix mixture will have the consistency of a dough more so than a cake, so it will be kind of thick. You can use a spatula to spread it. In a blender or food processor, combine softened cream cheese, powdered sugar, 2 beaten eggs; vanilla/lemon .... flavorings (to taste). Pour over the cake mixture. Bake 40 to 45 minutes, or until golden. You can use a 13X9 pyrex or 2 squared foil pans (about 8x8) . You can also cut into small squares and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
Did I do something wrong? The cake was tasty,but the top had a crisp crust, and the center was too gooey. It had the consistency of uncooked cake batter. Yuck! I made it exactly as instructed, and baked it for the appropriate time. I had to throw it away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2002
This was pretty good although it was more like a brownie than cake. Be sure to let this cool COMPLETELY before cutting or it appears to be gooey. Otherwise, it's great!!! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
OH THIS ONE IS IT, THE TASTE IS OUTSTANDING, VERY RICH BUT VERY GOOD, TYR IT YOU WILL LOVE IT GLENDA~TEXAS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
Rich and gooey and YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
I made this for my husband at work. He said everyone loved it. I substituted chocolate cake for yellow and added milk chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
This recipe is so easy to make and an excellent desert to bring to a potluck or social gathering. Very yummy, forget about dieting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
We werent crazy about it ... maybe I did something wrong. It was ok, just not great. I think I would enjoy it more with a chocolate mix.. or maybe lemon??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2001
This is an amazingly versatile recipe, and a big hit whenever I bring it into work. Experiment using different flavors of cake mix such as chocolate sprinkled with mini M&M's (DECADENT!) lemon, or even strawberry as I tried today. You'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2001
A big hit at a recent family gathering. Delicious, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States