Chewy Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kandiee
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I could hardly wait for these to cool; they ARE SOO FREAKIN' GOOD!!! The amount of oil scared me at first but I used the full cup and great thing I did (so moist). My changes were to up the cocoa powder to 1/2 cup, used 3 eggs instead of 4, 1.5 cups of reg. sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1 extra tbs corn syrup, and finally I omitted the confectioners sugar. I baked them for 28min and they are perfectly crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside. Not cakelike, not hard/crunchy at all! Best Brownies Ever! I'll never go back to a box again! Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandiee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
WOW - these are fabulous! Perfect chewy brownies. I cut the sugar to 1 1/2 c. and it was plenty. I also upped the cocoa to 1/2 c. for more chocolate flavor. If you're worried about burning or dryness, bake in a 9x9 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This is the BEST brownie recipe. I have been making it for over a year. Perfectly chewy! I always half the recipe because I can't stop eating them. Take note: if you up the cocoa powder, you have to decrease the flour. Too much dry ingredients will give you a more cake-like consistance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baker, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Klang, Selangor, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
These are so deliciously chewy!!! I upped the cocoa to 1/2 cup and next time I will probably add some chocolate chips too!! these are good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Great brownie recipe for fudge lovers!! The corn syrup is what gives them their chewy texture, so don't omit. I also added l cup of chocolate chips. Bars should be fudgy and not hard or cakelike, be careful to not overbake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
really good but my edges always burn any suggestions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam purchase

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I can only give these 4 stars as I made them, but I am positive they are 5 stars all the way. I took another's advice and added a bit more corn syrup, and mine are very wet on the bottom. They are chewy on the inside and crisp on the outside. I was worried with the amount of eggs, thinking they would be more cake like, and they aren't. I will make this again, reducing the amount of sugar a bit, and not adding any extra corn syrup. I also had to cook much longer than the 25 minutes, more like 45 for me. They are already half gone and I just made them last night! Thanks so much for the post, these are going to be my go-to brownie recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I followed the advice from the comments and upped the cocoa to a 1/2 cup. I also replaced the 1 cup of oil with applesauce. I put a pinch of cayenne and a 1/4 cup of coffee to enhance the chocolate flavor as well. I threw in peanut butter chips and unsalted crushed peanuts! Thank goodness I did, otherwise these brownies would have had no flavor! I think I am being generous by giving it 3 stars and that is only because they have a fantastic texture. That's not enough for me though, so I won't be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Darnell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gurnee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by HappyHousewife
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
These are definitely chewy! They are good but didn't rate them a five because they are just not QUITE as chocolatety as I would like. I think a 4.5 would be a good rating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyHousewife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Excellent chewy brownies. I used 2 cups of flour, other than that followed the recipe. I had to bake them about 40 minutes to get the middle done. I pressed the pecan halves into the top of the batter before baking. I sprayed my 9x13 pan well and they didn't stick at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States