Chewy Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kandiee
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I could hardly wait for these to cool; they ARE SOO FREAKIN' GOOD!!! The amount of oil scared me at first but I used the full cup and great thing I did (so moist). My changes were to up the cocoa powder to 1/2 cup, used 3 eggs instead of 4, 1.5 cups of reg. sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1 extra tbs corn syrup, and finally I omitted the confectioners sugar. I baked them for 28min and they are perfectly crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside. Not cakelike, not hard/crunchy at all! Best Brownies Ever! I'll never go back to a box again! Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandiee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
WOW - these are fabulous! Perfect chewy brownies. I cut the sugar to 1 1/2 c. and it was plenty. I also upped the cocoa to 1/2 c. for more chocolate flavor. If you're worried about burning or dryness, bake in a 9x9 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This is the BEST brownie recipe. I have been making it for over a year. Perfectly chewy! I always half the recipe because I can't stop eating them. Take note: if you up the cocoa powder, you have to decrease the flour. Too much dry ingredients will give you a more cake-like consistance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baker, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Klang, Selangor, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
These are so deliciously chewy!!! I upped the cocoa to 1/2 cup and next time I will probably add some chocolate chips too!! these are good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Great brownie recipe for fudge lovers!! The corn syrup is what gives them their chewy texture, so don't omit. I also added l cup of chocolate chips. Bars should be fudgy and not hard or cakelike, be careful to not overbake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
really good but my edges always burn any suggestions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam purchase

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kentville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I can only give these 4 stars as I made them, but I am positive they are 5 stars all the way. I took another's advice and added a bit more corn syrup, and mine are very wet on the bottom. They are chewy on the inside and crisp on the outside. I was worried with the amount of eggs, thinking they would be more cake like, and they aren't. I will make this again, reducing the amount of sugar a bit, and not adding any extra corn syrup. I also had to cook much longer than the 25 minutes, more like 45 for me. They are already half gone and I just made them last night! Thanks so much for the post, these are going to be my go-to brownie recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I followed the advice from the comments and upped the cocoa to a 1/2 cup. I also replaced the 1 cup of oil with applesauce. I put a pinch of cayenne and a 1/4 cup of coffee to enhance the chocolate flavor as well. I threw in peanut butter chips and unsalted crushed peanuts! Thank goodness I did, otherwise these brownies would have had no flavor! I think I am being generous by giving it 3 stars and that is only because they have a fantastic texture. That's not enough for me though, so I won't be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Darnell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gurnee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by HappyHousewife
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
These are definitely chewy! They are good but didn't rate them a five because they are just not QUITE as chocolatety as I would like. I think a 4.5 would be a good rating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyHousewife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Excellent chewy brownies. I used 2 cups of flour, other than that followed the recipe. I had to bake them about 40 minutes to get the middle done. I pressed the pecan halves into the top of the batter before baking. I sprayed my 9x13 pan well and they didn't stick at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States