Chewy Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Big disappointment.. cakey sponge like texture...bad flavor..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
These brownies are fabulous! The texture is perfect--wonderfully moist and chewy, but also not too dense. I will use this as a basic brownie recipe in the future, but to be truly fudgy there needs to be more chocolate taste. I'll try substituting chocolate syrup for the corn syrup or adding some chocolate chips. Mine also needed 40 minutes to fully bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I made this with 1/2 c of cocoa and 1 1/2 c of sugar, but it tastes rather salty - I would definitely cut down on the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Way too oily and Texture very granular. Maybe if I had; used less sugar & oil, & more flour. Really wanted this to work, it was easy and didn't use eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Absolutely amazing! I would have sworn by boxed brownies until I tried this recipe, but I wanted to make a whole-grain brownie. Mission accomplished! I used 1 1/4 c. King Arthur white whole-wheat flour, 1/2 c. cocoa, 1 t. salt, and 3 eggs. My family loved this whole-grain snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Khanh536
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
The recipe is JUST PERFECT. I like my brownies really chewy and I've tasted chewier brownies only one other time in my life. I'll definitely be making these again. Some people say add 1/2 cup of cocoa instead of 1/3 cup. But I don't know if i agree. If you add too much cocoa it has a weird earthy smell to it. I think this recipe is just perfect. I'm still looking for the perfect brownie but this will have to do till then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I prefer fudgy brownies. These were kind of cake-like when they first came out of the oven. I wasn't sure I liked them then. However, the second day, after sitting out in a sealed dish, they were much more fudgy. I loved them on the second day! Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Pierce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I just found and tried this recipe. It is the best recipe for brownies I have ever tried. I made a few changes going along with the ideas of another member. I put 1/2 C cocoa, used 3 eggs instead of 4, 1 extra Tbs corn syrup and I also omitted the confectioners sugar. They are perfect and my family LOVE them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Delish! I would sub half the oil for apple sauce next time, as well I used 1/4 cup cocoa powder and 4 melted squares of semi-sweet chocolate. This really helped to add depth to the chocolate flavour. Also, 1 and 1/2 cups of sugar was plenty. No powdered sugar, 2/3 cup of nuts sprinkled on top. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Port Hardy, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
i was excited about these brownies because of all the great reviews, maybe i should have followed some of the alterations that were listed because i made them exactly per the recipe and sorry but they were terrible, i will never make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States