Chewy Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
These brownies were...dare I say it...salty? The texture was MARVELOUS. Absolutely everything that a nice, warm, chewy brownie should be. But the actual flavor wasn't quite there. It could have used a little more chocolate and a lot less salt! On a side note, I also had to bake my batch for an additional 10 minutes and they are still fairly moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I took note of the first reviewers comment on the salt. I dropped the salt to 1 teaspoon and I found it to be plenty - could probably drop it to 3/4 tsp w/ good results too. Instead of incorporating the walnuts into the batter I sprinkled them on top. When you mix the nuts into the batter they get steamed. By adding the nuts on top of the batter they will get toasted and give a better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I cut the salt back to a half teaspoon and I used chopped pecans instead of walnuts. I made no other changes or substitutions. I baked this in my Perfect Brownie Pan, baked at 350* this was done in 33 minutes. Though these brownies turned out exactly as the submitter stated (PERFECTLY chewy and just chocolate-y enough), I missed the flavor that butter gives to brownies. I will make thes again and use butter next time in place of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
AWESOME! officially my permanent brownie recipe. Very chewy/gooey. Well done, Tom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I made these for my boys for an after school snack. I just used a pinch of salt and I used agave nectar instead of the corn syrup (b/c that's what I had on hand). The kids called them "BEAST!"......that's good! :) Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
These were AWESOME! I cut recipe in half, used 1/2 c. of cocoa, cut salt to 1/2 teaspoon and added a 1/4 teaspoon of baking soda. Baked for only 25 minutes in a 8x8 glass pan and they turned out perfectly - exactly as promised - slightly crisp edges and chewy middles. I did not bother to frost; they smelled so good, I had to sample after they cooled slightly. HEAVENLY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Excellent! I halved the salt as others suggested, and did not make the glaze (as I like brownies without icing). These were so delicious! Perfectly cakey and fudgy at the same time and the crunchy edges were yummy too. To top it off, this was one of the easiest brownie recipes ever. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilysmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Once the salt is reduced (maybe that was a typo?), these brownies are awesome! It's hard to find a brownie recipe that uses cocoa powder that's not too cakey. These were perfectly chewy and delicious! You could do any kind of nuts or none at all, mint extract, chocolate chips, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
These were okay. They tasted a little bland to me. Even with extra sugar and cocoa, the flavor just wasn't there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Not a lot of flavor - I guess that is because of the oil instead of butter. Maybe using some brown sugar instead of so much white would help. Or add more vanilla? Still - it was a good, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

MMMMM... Brownies

These chocolate brownies from scratch are easy, moist, and delicious.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States