Chewiest Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I adjusted the cocoa powder to about 2/3 cup and added 2 squares melted semi-sweet chocolate. I also baked them in a smaller pan. These are intensely chocolate, not your everyday lunchbox brownies. I won't make these everytime I want to make brownies, but I will make them when I want a special dessert and serve with whipped cream or ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I like experimenting with brownie recipes and this one is for sure a keeper. I decrerased cocoa to 3/4 cup and sugar to 1 1/2 cup, increased butter to 3/4 cup. I softened the butter(Did NOT melt) and wisked that in a bowl with the cocoa so it looked like melted chocolate.Then wisked in the sugar,eggs and vanilla, Then stirred in the flour and salt. I do ALOT of baking and all the good brownie recipes usually get handmixed in that order. The only thing I would do different is bake in a square pan, They were awful thin. I like my brownies thick. Thanks for the good recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snappy cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hayward, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
THE best brownie recipe I've tried in years! I use proportions for 26 servings (about 0.25 cup more of flour and cocoa), omitted the salt and added about between 0.33 & 0.5 cup of caramel apple dip I had in the frig that needed a home, LOL. To be honest, I don't remember how long I baked them: I popped them in the oven, ran to grab a gallon of milk down the street (about a quarter mile) and came back and a knife came out clean. WARNING: DO NOT eat these brownies without milk. LOL! THANK YOU FOR THIS RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Today I let my 5 yr old make these all by herself. She did great and we added cut up pieces of carmel. I was suprised by the stickiness of the batter but it turned out sooooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
omg best brownies on earthi had like 5 pieces in the las t hour ahhhh i want another
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovesyeastdough
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
These were great! Had the fudgy texture I was hoping for eventhough I overcooked them a little. Really nice chocolate flavour, I reduced the cocoa just a bit (about 2 tbsps) and increased the butter by a smidge (a tbsp or two). Think I will try it exactly as written next time. Oh, I also stirred in a few chocolate chips. I baked them in a muffin pan to make individual brownies which I topped with icecream and caramel sauce. There were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
as the recipe is written, i can only give 3 stars. with the changes i made (1/2 cup cooca, 1 1/2 cup sugar), it is 5 stars!!! The best if you like chewy brownies:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarahpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This recipe is great! I followed the advice of using 1/2 cup sugar and 3/4 cocoa powder and I even substituted the butter with shortening. The brownies ended up being really soft and chewy, I am extremely impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsan

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CARDI1
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
In my quest for chewy brownies, I came upon this recipe. I prefer chewy, not cakey brownies. This recipe delivers. I did take other reviewers' suggestions by decreasing the cocoa powder to 1/2 cup and decreasing the sugar to 1 1/2 cups. Definately chewy. Dough is sticky, so I added a splash of milk and lined an 8x8 pan with parchment and spread mixture on top. Next time, I will double recipe. Not the prettiest, but definately the tastiest & chewiest recipe I've ever tried. Outside crust is crackly and slightly crisp. I may try pouring chocholate ganache over the top next time. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARDI1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States