Chewiest Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
i made these and followed the sugestion to add veggtalbe oil and decrease cocoa to 3\4 and added 4 eggs don't know how they will turn out batter tasted very good although not as good as my mother's recipie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
These are really good my mixture was very thick there was no pouring it into the pan i had to spread it out with my hands...make sure you let them cool completely before cutting they are really gooey inside until they cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I had high hopes for these but I was disappointed. I wanted chewy, chocolatey brownies with a nice crisp/flakey top. The kind you would pay money for. I got the crisp/flakey top kinda. These were also thinner than I had hoped but I knew there were going to be when making the batter. Baked at 300 degrees for about 35 min but everything except the outer inch and a half still seemed a little under cooked. Now for the flavor. I mixed together my flour and cocoa in one bowl and in another I mixed all of the other ingredients in another bowl until the mixture was pale then added the flour/cocoa. With the amount of sugar called for I was concerned that the batter would be grainy in texture. I cut the sugar down to 1 1/2 cups and the cocoa down to 3/4 cup. The brownies were still grainy and literally tasted like sugar and cocoa. I felt guilty eating them and really wished they were richer in taste so I could at least feel like my guilt was somehow justified. Needless to say I wouldn't spend money on these but because I have them and I don't want to waste I am going to try covering them up with some ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Really great!! My daughter and her friend made these and absolutely loved them! Although, I do suggest baking them for a little longer (around 10 minutes) and maybe on a higher temperature. After only 30 minutes for us, they were still a little undercooked. Although they were still really delicious without being fully cooked (we had to try), they were even better when cooked! Over all, a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I've tried several recipes and this one works great and tastes great, even in high altitude (6200ft).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This is the first brownie I've made from this site that my 5 y.o. liked and devoured. Husband liked too. From reading the other reviews, I went with a round cake pound, which made brownie thicker. Depth of chocolate reminds me of the Ghirardelli brownie mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I have made this recipie twice and love it. I eat wayyy more than my share. The first time I made as written and loved them. The second time I made them with Dutch Process Cocoa powder and I added two teaspoons of Roasted Milled Flax Seeds (which adds a little nutrition and a slight nutty flavor). They were even better. As hard as it is, I would say to let these COMPLETELY cool before eating. They are really good warm, but believe me, they are somehow even better cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SJC1637

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I used the reviewers suggestions and decreased the cocoa and sugar. Also, I mixed the cocoa, butter, sugar, eggs, and vanilla in one bowl and the flour and salt in another before adding it all together. The mixture was still hard to mix, so I added a little evaporated milk leftover from another recipe. I also baked it in a greased 8x8 pan at 300 for 20-25 minutes. The brownies still came out fudgy and tasted like dark chocolate, which was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Arnold

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
These are awesome! I did lower the sugar and cocoa but next time I will make them exactly how the recipe says to. They are very chewy and good! They are even better the next day. I have been looking for a home made recipe that is chewy and this is it!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
What did I do wrong? My batter/dough was not spreadable at all. It had the consistency of clay rather than a very thick batter. And when I baked it, it didn't rise at all. I had an extremely chewy brownie. On the taste, it was too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by louiela17
Home Town: Taguig, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 431) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Vegan Brownies

A great chocolate dessert for people who avoid dairy and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States