Chestnut Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Tasted fine, I did use only one loaf of bread. It was DRY, even with some added turkey drippings. I would add a can broth to it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I'm giving this 4 stars because I think the reason I didn't care for it was my own fault. I used only 1 loaf and margarine instead of butter, and it was really greasy (definitely not dry!). The chestnuts were a pain in the butt but they were tasty, and I added golden raisins (I like a lot of "stuff" in my stuffing). I will definitely try again with real butter, and I may add more raisins or cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This was tasty, but I think there should be more chestnuts in it, I did take the other reviewers advice and half the amount of bread and I added half a small tin of water chestnuts that I had leftover but it still needed more. It's a good starting point though. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Very good. I tried roasting the chestnuts instead of boiling, and some of them popped, making a big mess. It is a job to prepare them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I used one loaf of bread, cut into small cubes, and half way through cooking added 1 1/2 cups of turkey brooth so it was more moist. The best stuffing we have ever had! Wow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
The flavor of this dish was pretty good. You do have to be careful about how much bread you use if you want a moist stuffing. Mine was a little too dry I think. Allow for some time to peel and chop the chestnuts (it took me almost an hour). I have never used them before so there may be a trick to it. I don't know. I do know I was hating them at the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearns, Utah, USA
Living In: Hoquiam, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Delicious. Like others I only used half the called-for bread, and even at that I added some broth at the last minute to make it moister, but the flavor was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I was the original poster of this recipe and I love checking back in year after year to see more people have tried it! **Just a friendly reminder, the recipe calls for 2 loaves of bread but it seems to work much better with 1-1 1/2 loaves to avoid dryness. You could also add another egg if you prefer to use 2 loaves.** Thanks so much for enjoying my Nana's recipe, this is a true tradition in my family and I'm thrilled to share it. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving 2007!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
AWESOME, AWESOME, AWESOME! I'll make it again next year. My husband just happened to come in from work with a bag full of chestnuts someone had given him, so I found this recipe and, wow. I did cheat and use a 1 lb bag of the herbed stuffing, but the chestnuts really made all the difference. Actually, I don't think I can wait until next year. Christmas is right around the corner....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I have to say this stuffing was amazing. I only used 1 loaf of bread and it wasnt dry at all. Everyone complemented me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess51725

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States