Chestnut Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Tasted fine, I did use only one loaf of bread. It was DRY, even with some added turkey drippings. I would add a can broth to it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I'm giving this 4 stars because I think the reason I didn't care for it was my own fault. I used only 1 loaf and margarine instead of butter, and it was really greasy (definitely not dry!). The chestnuts were a pain in the butt but they were tasty, and I added golden raisins (I like a lot of "stuff" in my stuffing). I will definitely try again with real butter, and I may add more raisins or cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This was tasty, but I think there should be more chestnuts in it, I did take the other reviewers advice and half the amount of bread and I added half a small tin of water chestnuts that I had leftover but it still needed more. It's a good starting point though. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Very good. I tried roasting the chestnuts instead of boiling, and some of them popped, making a big mess. It is a job to prepare them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I used one loaf of bread, cut into small cubes, and half way through cooking added 1 1/2 cups of turkey brooth so it was more moist. The best stuffing we have ever had! Wow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
The flavor of this dish was pretty good. You do have to be careful about how much bread you use if you want a moist stuffing. Mine was a little too dry I think. Allow for some time to peel and chop the chestnuts (it took me almost an hour). I have never used them before so there may be a trick to it. I don't know. I do know I was hating them at the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearns, Utah, USA
Living In: Hoquiam, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Delicious. Like others I only used half the called-for bread, and even at that I added some broth at the last minute to make it moister, but the flavor was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I was the original poster of this recipe and I love checking back in year after year to see more people have tried it! **Just a friendly reminder, the recipe calls for 2 loaves of bread but it seems to work much better with 1-1 1/2 loaves to avoid dryness. You could also add another egg if you prefer to use 2 loaves.** Thanks so much for enjoying my Nana's recipe, this is a true tradition in my family and I'm thrilled to share it. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving 2007!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
AWESOME, AWESOME, AWESOME! I'll make it again next year. My husband just happened to come in from work with a bag full of chestnuts someone had given him, so I found this recipe and, wow. I did cheat and use a 1 lb bag of the herbed stuffing, but the chestnuts really made all the difference. Actually, I don't think I can wait until next year. Christmas is right around the corner....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I have to say this stuffing was amazing. I only used 1 loaf of bread and it wasnt dry at all. Everyone complemented me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess51725

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States