Chestnut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
It smelled pretty funky while it was cooking, but in the end I was amazed at the depth and uniqueness of flavor. I made this because I had a jar of roasted chestnuts, which made it easy. Also, I substituted homemade almond milk with vanilla bean for the heavy cream and sauteed the onions before adding the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This recipe is a keeper! It was delicious, and my guests loved it. Especially easy when you can get frozen chestnuts that are already peeled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
On flavor, this recipe is a clear 5-stars. However, there was room for improvement with the consistency. A chestnut soup should be a little thicker. I added a simple roux (2 T of melted butter and 2 T of flour), and it helped a lot. Also, in lieu of the dollop of unsweetened whipped cream, try one small scoop of vanilla bean ice cream. Sounds silly, but it was legendary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Just made it for dinner, very tasty! By the time i had to add cream I realized i didnt have anymore and it was too late to run to the shop, but with a little bit of butter the soup was still great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Very good and super easy. One thing I did though is to saute the onion and chestnuts in butter before adding the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Haven't made it, but had chestnut soup at 5 star restaurant and loved it. It was creamy with just a touch of sweetness. They put a 3oz custard in the middle of the soup bowl and poured the soup on top then put sauted mushrooms on top of the custard. I don't care for mushrooms but thought I would share. You could make custard using those little pyrex serving finger bowls and then turn upside down in the pan. Flavor the custard anyway you like. The restaurant's custard didn't have much taste but the texture coupled with the soup was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Pfeifle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
After years of not knowing what to do with all the chestnuts from my mother-in-laws' yard, this soup has provided an answer! It was easy to make (my husband roasted & shelled the chestnuts) and was absolutely delicious. I served it to my family & in-laws who were amazed at how good it was. I'm now thinking about collecting, roasting & freezing more chestnuts so we can have more soup all winter long. You've got to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I use this recipe every Thanksgiving, and it's become a family favorite. The soup is so smooth and creamy, and it's so worth searching for the chestnuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States