Chestnut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Wow! I never tried chestnuts before. Just roasted and plain they were delicious but I had to stop myself from eating them so I had enough for the soup. Chestnuts are expensive but this soup is worth the cost, especially if you want to impress your guests. thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
wonderful!! I love soup of all kinds. I was able to get fresh? vacumn packed chestnuts in produce at Trader Joes. Made it very simple:) I could eat the whole thing by myself, lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Turned out really good and I will make it again but next time I will get a sucker to cut and shell the chestnuts. What a pain in the a__, I kept saying "This had better be worth it" and it was. Then I was hoping nobody would like it so I wouldn't have to do it again but no such luck. It was a hit, everybody loved it and there were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I did a vegetarian version--veggie broth instead of chicken + a healthy chunk of butter. I've made this twice, once with fresh chestnuts, once with canned. There isn't a substantial quality difference, and given the hassle of peeling, I'll be using canned in the future. Both times I made this I served it with a simple salad with lemon-based dressing. Perfecto! Across the board satisfaction from young and old alike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tempest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
When it comes to chestnut soup recipes, this is probably 'the best' - so I gave it five stars. If you love chestnuts and want to make a soup with them, this is the way to go. However, both my husband and I thought the soup was really sweet and rich, and something we'd prefer to eat only once a year (holiday time). Just FYI, the soup is best in small portions - 1/2 cup appetizer before a large turkey/potatoes/stuffing meal. Not as a soup-for-dinner. (Duh. We tried the latter and got really sick of it, really quickly.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
If you love chestnuts then you will die for this recipe! I will definately use this one on Thanksgiving, and Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I agree, peeling the chestnuts is a HUGE pain, but I only make this once a year (on Christmas), and the roasting/peeling/puree-ing can be done well in advance (then, you only need to add the cream on the day that it's served). For presentation, I recommend reserving a few roasted unpeeled chestnuts (one for each bowl). Just ladle the soup, place the roasted/unpeeled chestnuts in the center of the soup bowl, and sprinkle the parsley around the chestnut. My guests loved the novelty of peeling/eating roasted chestnuts on Christmas day (and it was 6 less chestnuts that I had to peel myself!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: San Bruno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
This was totally not worth the work involved. I made it for Thanksgiving dinner and took one taste of it and poured it down the garbage disposal. I am sorry, just being honest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nutley, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I made this for our Thanksgiving celebration and it got rave reviews from everyone. For leftovers, I sliced up leftover rolls, buttered them generously, sprinkled them with just a teeny bit of ground nutmeg and baked them on a cookie sheet at 425 degrees just until they were toasted. They were WONDERFUL for dunking in the soup or broken up and floating on top. Thanks for the great recipe -- this is now a tradition for our Thanksgiving meals. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELSHARK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delaplane, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
Very delicate...gentle use of chestnuts and good introduction for people who don't usually eat them. Easy recipe to put together, excellent on a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States