Chesscakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
i am the mom of seven boys...i made these cupcakes making half with blueberry pie filling and the others with strawberry pie filling...they were gone within an hour. my one son had some teenage friends over and they ate them all ! i never had a chance to icing them...but they were delicious ! i am making more this morning to take to a friends house for lunch today...i am sure we won't have any left over ! my only advice...when doing the pie crust don't make it too thin. i didn't lay the pie crust all the way to the edge. the batter filled it up fine. also, not too much filling on the bottom (i used pie filling) it will be too heavy when you take them out and tear. i kept mine in the frig over night and they were perfect. you will love these...many alterations with fillings. signed: ~ a very grateful mother ~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Made this for a potluck, at work. None, leftover. It was a hit. I had used 2 different type of preserves, and topped with frosting. I didin't have a round cookie cutter, so I just used one of my drinking cup, that did the job. Thank you, adding this one to my recipe bool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DzzRed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livingston, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
Wow! These are awesome. I ended up with 24 regular sized and 12 mini from just one recipe. I used my favorite chocolate cake recipe instead of a box and used a chocolate ganache icing recipe from this site for the top. The only issue I had was that the crust did not brown well on the regular sized cakes. Maybe my pans? Maybe next time I'll bake the crust quickly before I add the jam and batter. I agree that these could be a lot of fun to get creative with. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keilypie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I made these with homemade pastry, raspberry jam, one bowl chocolate cake and then ganache on the top. Garnished with a fresh raspberry. They were to die for. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Very easy to make and a complete hit every time I bring them to gatherings. I have tried different combinations of cake mix and preserves and they all turn out good. Frost with a cream cheese frosting...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Fun to make and different from the norm. People were surprised by the filling. The variations are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
I made these for a graduation party, and they flew off the dessert table. The chocolate cake/raspberry/ganache version was the first to go, however I preferred the white cake/strawberry/cr.cheese frosting variety myself. This is a great recipe with many possibilities! Have fun with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
followed recipe exactly. frosted with canned chocolate frosting when cooled. fiancee said it tasted just like a "home-run pie" .. you know, those pies from the grocery store that sell 10/$1.00. yummmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I loved these...and loved making them. It is much easier than it looks. I also tried orange marmalade and it was fantastic. To know the difference between each of the cakes I put either a little orange zest or raspberry colored crystals on the top right after taking them out of the oven. Everyone enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I think that these are awesome and I am having fun dreaming up different variations. For example, today I used canned apple pie filling (I pulsed it in my food processor a couple of times to make small apple pieces) and spice cake mix. Then before baking, I topped them with a "french apple pie" topping consisting of 1 cup flour, 1 T cinnamon, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup butter and a handful of chopped pecans (I had a lot left over, I just froze it for later use). Baked them up, cooled them, and dusted them with powdered sugar. Now I have French Apple Pie-Cakes! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathalinaFina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Bonners Ferry, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States