Chesscakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
i am the mom of seven boys...i made these cupcakes making half with blueberry pie filling and the others with strawberry pie filling...they were gone within an hour. my one son had some teenage friends over and they ate them all ! i never had a chance to icing them...but they were delicious ! i am making more this morning to take to a friends house for lunch today...i am sure we won't have any left over ! my only advice...when doing the pie crust don't make it too thin. i didn't lay the pie crust all the way to the edge. the batter filled it up fine. also, not too much filling on the bottom (i used pie filling) it will be too heavy when you take them out and tear. i kept mine in the frig over night and they were perfect. you will love these...many alterations with fillings. signed: ~ a very grateful mother ~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I think that these are awesome and I am having fun dreaming up different variations. For example, today I used canned apple pie filling (I pulsed it in my food processor a couple of times to make small apple pieces) and spice cake mix. Then before baking, I topped them with a "french apple pie" topping consisting of 1 cup flour, 1 T cinnamon, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup butter and a handful of chopped pecans (I had a lot left over, I just froze it for later use). Baked them up, cooled them, and dusted them with powdered sugar. Now I have French Apple Pie-Cakes! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathalinaFina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Bonners Ferry, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
You know, I was not sure what to expect with these little cupcakes when I read the recipe, but I’m always looking for interesting treats to share with my department at work so thought I’d give it a shot. These are marvelous. When making them, be sure to really grease each cupcake cup before inserting the pie crust and other ingredients. Some of the preserves bubbled over on a couple of mine and it was very difficult to remove the cakes intact. No worries though, the damaged ones tasted just as good! I used white cake mix (added extra vanilla) but really any cake mix, boxed or homemade, will work just fine. Because I was under some time constraints I topped my cakes with canned butter cream frosting but these really need something a little more special. Next time I will take the extra effort and top them off with a really good, fluffy frosting. These were a hit with my co-workers (one asked for the recipe and made them for his son’s birthday party) and a hit at home. The creative possibilities with this recipe are endless so I’ll be sure to make them again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shinjuku, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
These cupcakes turned out great! They were a hit with my entire family. With the pie crust and the cake mix, you get the best of both worlds. I didn't frost them in any way, and personally I thought they were best like that. I used rasberry preserves, but I would certainly like to try other fruits. Also, the pie crust is a sturdy base, keeping the filling from falling out, just be sure to make it thick enough! This recipe was simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2002
This is a great recipe. I served it at a graduation party and was asked for the recipe. I topped it with a white chocolate buttercream frosting. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Absolutely sinfully delish! I had some trouble with the crust, but I've never rocked the pie thing. Agree with another post to keep the dough not too thin. I made it with Lemon Cake and canned Raspberries....great combo of snarky flavor! The best ones were the mini-muffins, bite sized for easy handling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cowboyspals

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I made these with homemade pastry, raspberry jam, one bowl chocolate cake and then ganache on the top. Garnished with a fresh raspberry. They were to die for. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
Wow! These are awesome. I ended up with 24 regular sized and 12 mini from just one recipe. I used my favorite chocolate cake recipe instead of a box and used a chocolate ganache icing recipe from this site for the top. The only issue I had was that the crust did not brown well on the regular sized cakes. Maybe my pans? Maybe next time I'll bake the crust quickly before I add the jam and batter. I agree that these could be a lot of fun to get creative with. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keilypie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Excellent. Very different from a typical cupcake -- a bit more sophisticated. I use pie filling, which keeps it from being overly sweet, and a buttercream frosting. I always get rave reviews when I make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TVCHICK
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
These were GREAT! I wanted them to be bite-sized, so I used mini-muffin tins... and since I only had 2 tins (made 48 mini chesscakes), I still had enough leftover ingredients to make 4 regular-sized chesscakes. I used raspberry pie filling instead of raspberry jam and it worked great. I can't wait to experiment and make different flavors next time! I served these for a party and they were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States