Chesscakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2001
these chesscakes are incredibly easy to make, and they taste delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2001
This is an amazing recipe, very unique! I tried various preserves and they were all great. The recipe is so easy that this will be become a favorite in my collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2002
This is a great recipe. I served it at a graduation party and was asked for the recipe. I topped it with a white chocolate buttercream frosting. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
You know, I was not sure what to expect with these little cupcakes when I read the recipe, but I’m always looking for interesting treats to share with my department at work so thought I’d give it a shot. These are marvelous. When making them, be sure to really grease each cupcake cup before inserting the pie crust and other ingredients. Some of the preserves bubbled over on a couple of mine and it was very difficult to remove the cakes intact. No worries though, the damaged ones tasted just as good! I used white cake mix (added extra vanilla) but really any cake mix, boxed or homemade, will work just fine. Because I was under some time constraints I topped my cakes with canned butter cream frosting but these really need something a little more special. Next time I will take the extra effort and top them off with a really good, fluffy frosting. These were a hit with my co-workers (one asked for the recipe and made them for his son’s birthday party) and a hit at home. The creative possibilities with this recipe are endless so I’ll be sure to make them again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shinjuku, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
Wow! These are awesome. I ended up with 24 regular sized and 12 mini from just one recipe. I used my favorite chocolate cake recipe instead of a box and used a chocolate ganache icing recipe from this site for the top. The only issue I had was that the crust did not brown well on the regular sized cakes. Maybe my pans? Maybe next time I'll bake the crust quickly before I add the jam and batter. I agree that these could be a lot of fun to get creative with. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keilypie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
i am the mom of seven boys...i made these cupcakes making half with blueberry pie filling and the others with strawberry pie filling...they were gone within an hour. my one son had some teenage friends over and they ate them all ! i never had a chance to icing them...but they were delicious ! i am making more this morning to take to a friends house for lunch today...i am sure we won't have any left over ! my only advice...when doing the pie crust don't make it too thin. i didn't lay the pie crust all the way to the edge. the batter filled it up fine. also, not too much filling on the bottom (i used pie filling) it will be too heavy when you take them out and tear. i kept mine in the frig over night and they were perfect. you will love these...many alterations with fillings. signed: ~ a very grateful mother ~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I made these with homemade pastry, raspberry jam, one bowl chocolate cake and then ganache on the top. Garnished with a fresh raspberry. They were to die for. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Very easy to make and a complete hit every time I bring them to gatherings. I have tried different combinations of cake mix and preserves and they all turn out good. Frost with a cream cheese frosting...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Fun to make and different from the norm. People were surprised by the filling. The variations are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Made this for a potluck, at work. None, leftover. It was a hit. I had used 2 different type of preserves, and topped with frosting. I didin't have a round cookie cutter, so I just used one of my drinking cup, that did the job. Thank you, adding this one to my recipe bool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DzzRed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livingston, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States