Chesscakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Excellent! Cute! Quick! Delish! I made these using a mini-cupcake type pan from Wilton, that has 24 minicakes in it. The recipe made 2 of these sheets for a total of 48 pieces. I used the vanilla/Rasp. jam and a Pillsbury refrigerated pie crust that you just open and unroll. I also sprayed the pan well. They came out easy and the kids loved them. Great finger food that looks like it took a lot of time, but it was so quick! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momto3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Fantastic! I used sugar free raspberry jam & I didn't put pie crust all the way up the muffin pan. I only put a bottom layer of pie crust, jam, cake batter. This recipe is versatile and can be adapted for whatever you want it to be. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ToryHunz
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This a thing that has always been around in my family all my life but we tart shells instead and it tends to stand up easier and we call them jamcakes yum yum makes me want to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Excellent. Very different from a typical cupcake -- a bit more sophisticated. I use pie filling, which keeps it from being overly sweet, and a buttercream frosting. I always get rave reviews when I make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I made these with lemon cake mix and raspberry jam. I planned to frost them with lemon cream cheese frosting. After reading all the reviews, I was eager to try them. Unfortunately, I was very disappointed with the outcome. The crust was soggy and they just didn't taste good. I did not bother to frost them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TVCHICK
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
These were GREAT! I wanted them to be bite-sized, so I used mini-muffin tins... and since I only had 2 tins (made 48 mini chesscakes), I still had enough leftover ingredients to make 4 regular-sized chesscakes. I used raspberry pie filling instead of raspberry jam and it worked great. I can't wait to experiment and make different flavors next time! I served these for a party and they were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Turned out more pretty than I anticipated. Taste OK, not really like the top part (not very moist & fluffy like Angel cake), next time I will try yellow mix or other butter cake recipe & maybe strawberry preserve)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I wanted to try this recipe because many of my 23 grandchildren have been asking me to teach them to cook. So I made a "trial" batch alone first. Mine came out perfect with spice cake and apricot filling. Because pie crust by scratch can be challenging, I decided to use refrigerated pie dough that you roll out so their first attempts would be easier. I had five of the girls try theirs first and then four of the boys, each choosing flavor options They all came out perfect and each had a great time. I think my favorite combination was the chocolate cake with hot fudge filling and buttered toasted nuts on top. This was so easy to make and scrumptious that all I had to really do was sit back and wait for my tastes of each :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nikiski, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
These were fantastic! I used cherry pie filling for the center and I still get requests to make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Absolutely sinfully delish! I had some trouble with the crust, but I've never rocked the pie thing. Agree with another post to keep the dough not too thin. I made it with Lemon Cake and canned Raspberries....great combo of snarky flavor! The best ones were the mini-muffins, bite sized for easy handling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cowboyspals

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States