Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
I followed this recipe exactly and the pie turned out perfect! After the 40 minutes were up I did turn off the oven and let the pie cool off in the oven for another 30 min or so. My husband and I enjoyed it immensely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Delicious and easy to make. The recipe make more than one regular 9 in pie shell. Using a deep dish shell or putting less batter in 2 regular shells will prevent cooking over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenny Tinsley
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Wonderful! Absolutely wonderful! For years, I've searched for the perfect chess pie recipe, only to be disappointed every time. They never, ever, set right.... And, if they do, it's simply sub-standard. Until, I tried this recipe! Finally, just like Granny used to make--I can't wait to make one for the next family reunion! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Tinsley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Just made this, and it was as delicious as promised. The only problem was the filling wa soupy after cooking according to directions. I ended up cranking the oven up to 350 degrees and cooking an extra half hour. The top was extra brown, but still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Have made this pie all my life (which is a long time).My granny showed me how. Never turned out bad. Just love it. Like to surprise friends after eat it and telling them it had vinegar and cornmeal in it.lololp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judi Smith Nesbit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mina Sockwell
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mina Sockwell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodie Russell Hill
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Awesome recipe thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie Russell Hill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaDonna Austin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I got very nervous after reading the reviews - the pie turned out perfect! It's a golden brown. I did have to cover the crust to keep from getting too brown and I let it sit in the oven until cooled down and then on the counter for just a bit. Follow the instructions and you shouldn't have a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Potts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Since this was my recipe I would like to elaborate...so sorry some of you didn't have a successful baking experience. I will tell you ovens cook differently when it took much longer to cook I line the crust with aluminum foil to keep crust from burning and check it at 10 minute intervals till knife comes out clean and it looks less jiggly. To those of you who were successful and loved it my grandmother would be tickled. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States