Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I have been making this pie for years. Started making it because it was what we could afford & had on hand at the time lo. It is a favorite of my entire family. Never served it with a topping but just may try that. I also make the Pumpkin-Chess Pie version too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
this is a wonderful recipe, for a wonderful pie!!! The recipe has been changed and modified many times over the years. However the original and literally it is and was (JUST pie),, but due to the fact that it is a southern dish,, the name "jes pie" is how it is pronounced in the south,, it comes out chess pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Reminds me of my Great Grandmother Moa(RIP) -this taste exactly like hers- now that I know how too make it:I fear my diet is losing a never ending battle. A nice add on since I've had time to experiment is lime zest and the juice from one small lime -gives it a pleasant kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
HYPER sweet!!! I know this is traditionally a very sweet pie, but it was too sweet for us. We tried it for the first time in a homey little place in Nashville, TN, so we wanted to have it for Thanksgiving. The flavor was very good, just too much sugar. It worked out though, because our blueberries were very tart last summer, so if you had a fork full of blueberry pie and a fork full of Chess pie at the same time, they were both perfect. I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Roscoe, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
It had a nice taste but it didn't set well for me. It was very runny but the top was very crisp and a dark golden brown. I made another chess pie recipe with only 3 eggs and no evaporated milk and they turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
LOOOOVE this recipe! I don't know what the deal is with some of these reviews. I live in the flat country of West Tennessee and this recipe trumps some of the local hand-me-down ones. Not only do I make this for my own family, but I have begun making these for the restaurant in which I work. The customers rave over it! I have always let my pies cool in the oven (for want of counter space) so I have never had the eggy pond like others with this particular recipe. The sweetness is perfect and so is the cornmeal crust. This is one to show off with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is my second review that I must share it was so delicious and my husband couldn't help himself and ate 2 slices and he said it was better than a sweet potato pie. Once again this was a great two thumbs up recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Perfect with one and a half cups of sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
followed recipe exactly did not set at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glasgow, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Make chess pies all the time. My recipe differs slightly. I use 1 cup sugar 1/2 brown sugar, 1/4 whole milk and only 3 well beaten eggs. Because of cook time I cover the crust with either tin foil or crust covers for 1/2 the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States