Chess Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Donna
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This was the first time I have ever made chess pie, but I had a friend request for me to make one,so I made two instead..lol.. I made the first one regular and the second I made Chocolate . I followed this recipe to a t except for I melted a little chocolate unsweetened squares and added it to the chocolate one. I cooked it for the exact 35 minutes and it turned out amazing. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
It needs milk of some kind (evaporated, whole, or buttermilk) in it to make the custard. This is not the best recipe for chess pie. I also agree that the cooking time takes more like an hour. It was edible, but I would not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
We were living in North Carolina in the late 90's a school friend of our son's came over around Thanksgiving with this pie. We all had a piece it is quite sweet but we all really liked it. A few days later she came back with the recipe. Two years later we moved back to the west coast, that Christmas Eve I made this pie I didn't tell anybody after Dinner when everyone was mingling around I was watching my Nana (Grandmother) while she cut a piece of this pie she topped it with a little whipped cream took a bite and closed her eyes and smiled, then she sat the plate down and said who made the "Old Fashioned" Cream Pie? I didn't know she was talking about my pie some were saying "not me" so I walked over and said "Old Fashioned" Cream Pie she said yes this one (holding up her plate) Oh I made that, she said well you just took me back to my childhood Thank You. She said all the adults called it "Old Fashioned" cream pie and I just love it. I make this every Thanksgiving and Christmas and the whole Family loves it. I will say I think it needs almost an hour to cook from my experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nevada, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This did not set up at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
So good and easy to make. Had to bake mine for 45 mins. before it was set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia Foxfire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seguin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I first tasted this pie 2 weeks ago in Tennesee at a wonerful B&B. This pie is authentic and awesome! Thank you for a great recipe! I did bake it 14 mins. more thou.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I tasted this exact pie nearly 50 years ago when my mom got it from her sister. We lost the recipe many years ago. We tried various recipes, but none were the one we remembered. Today, my memories came back. Thank you for the best chess pie ever. Wonderful old fashioned southern baking at it's finest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This is the perfect pie. I have been making pies for over 60 years and had lost my Chess Pie Recipe. This is it. Mine was given to me by a neighbor who had had it handed down to her through family. Follow the recipe exact. I use an immersion blender to mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
as i read on a couple of reviews, the pie should be baked for at least an hour unless it sets before then. I had to check it several times to keep it from burning. otherwise very easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This was fantastic. Made it on a fluke to replace jello. re calculated the menu to do 120 servings. My staff of 3 ate 1 whole pie. They are picky and if the enjoyed it. The residents will also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thesz

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States