Chess Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2000
I have searched all over for this recipe. My neighbor across the street used to make this pie when I was a little girl and I loved it. It was the first thing I learned to cook. I lost the recipe and she has long since moved away. My husband and daughter just love it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2000
This recipe is BETTER than my grandmothers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2002
I doubled this recipe and made two pies. Good thing! This chess pie is EXCELLENT!! Just like my grandmother used to make. Don't over cook. Once the center sets, it's done. I've definitely added this one to my recipe box! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
Wonderfully yummy. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
This IS chess pie as far as I'm concerned...EXACTLY as I enjoyed it as a child in TN. I had this recipe (handwritten from my mother)when I left home in the early 80's...lost it along the way somewhere. Glad to have it again. In the past month or so I've made about a half dozen chess pies - I simply cannot resist sharing with my less- (or not-at-all-)Southern friends and loved ones. They've all turned out spot-on perfect. Rave reviews all around (Southern, Not-so-Southern, Not-at-all Southern friends alike in their compliments!) Thanks to Clair for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
very very good pie. The best chess pie i have ever had. I have tried alot of recipes but this one is the best. i even put choc chips in it, for a change of pase.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
This pie was exactly what I remembered my grandmother's tasting like. She died before I could get her recipe and now I believe I've found it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
Great recipe!!! Been wanting to learn how to make this instead of begging people to make it for me!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
This is an AWESOME pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMDAD4KIDDIES

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
So easy, and the first time a chess pie that I made actually 'set' and was edible. I did leave in the oven for about 55 minutes. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States