Chess Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2002
I doubled this recipe and made two pies. Good thing! This chess pie is EXCELLENT!! Just like my grandmother used to make. Don't over cook. Once the center sets, it's done. I've definitely added this one to my recipe box! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
This IS chess pie as far as I'm concerned...EXACTLY as I enjoyed it as a child in TN. I had this recipe (handwritten from my mother)when I left home in the early 80's...lost it along the way somewhere. Glad to have it again. In the past month or so I've made about a half dozen chess pies - I simply cannot resist sharing with my less- (or not-at-all-)Southern friends and loved ones. They've all turned out spot-on perfect. Rave reviews all around (Southern, Not-so-Southern, Not-at-all Southern friends alike in their compliments!) Thanks to Clair for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I baked this pie for the 35 minute time limit. It definitely needs to be cooked for at least 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I give this 5 stars becaise its great. I was so tired of asking people to make me a chess pie or buying them at the store. I saw this today and made it today as well. Guess what it turned out perfectly! The only thing is instead of 35mins cook it for 55mins. Perrrrfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
35 minutes????? You are probably reading this review because you followed the directions perfectly and it came out a liquid mess with a hard crust on top, right? That is because it absolutely needs to be baked at 350 for ONE HOUR! not 35 mins. I have a brand new WhirlPool Accubake oven and it works great-so for all the reviewers who said it only takes 35 minutes, please tell me what kind of oven you have that baked this pie in 35 minutes so I can run out and buy one! Mine is an electric oven, so do you all have gas ovens? Would that make that much of a difference anyway? That is why I gave this recipe 3 stars...After I baked it, it came out good, but it was very frustrating to have to figure the time out for myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Solimar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
So easy, and the first time a chess pie that I made actually 'set' and was edible. I did leave in the oven for about 55 minutes. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2000
I have searched all over for this recipe. My neighbor across the street used to make this pie when I was a little girl and I loved it. It was the first thing I learned to cook. I lost the recipe and she has long since moved away. My husband and daughter just love it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I think it was a great recipe; quick, easy, and tasted great. Even my picky son now claims this to be his favorite pie. While some ovens may bake this in 35 minutes, mine took 55 minutes to set up perfectly. Everyone should read the directions and stop complaining about the length of time it takes.....your directions plainly state "35 minutes or until set." Thanks for sharing a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Canerdy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flat Rock, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
very very good pie. The best chess pie i have ever had. I have tried alot of recipes but this one is the best. i even put choc chips in it, for a change of pase.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This was incredibly easy, and fast! It was so sweet and the perfect texture. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States