Chess Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2000
I have searched all over for this recipe. My neighbor across the street used to make this pie when I was a little girl and I loved it. It was the first thing I learned to cook. I lost the recipe and she has long since moved away. My husband and daughter just love it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2000
This recipe is BETTER than my grandmothers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2002
I doubled this recipe and made two pies. Good thing! This chess pie is EXCELLENT!! Just like my grandmother used to make. Don't over cook. Once the center sets, it's done. I've definitely added this one to my recipe box! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
I baked this at least 40 minutes but it did not set up. I *thought* it had when I pulled it out (because the top was firm to the touch) but it was just a hard, glass-like crust that formed atop the liquid inside. I tried eating the bottom pie crust, but it just tasted like super-sweet vinegar. This was a total disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
I'm not a big chess pie fan but I made this for a friends birthday and she loved it. It was simple to make and goes well with French pastry pie crust (found on this site). Very sweet, if that's what you like this is excellent. I've never had a better piece of chess pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
Wonderfully yummy. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
This IS chess pie as far as I'm concerned...EXACTLY as I enjoyed it as a child in TN. I had this recipe (handwritten from my mother)when I left home in the early 80's...lost it along the way somewhere. Glad to have it again. In the past month or so I've made about a half dozen chess pies - I simply cannot resist sharing with my less- (or not-at-all-)Southern friends and loved ones. They've all turned out spot-on perfect. Rave reviews all around (Southern, Not-so-Southern, Not-at-all Southern friends alike in their compliments!) Thanks to Clair for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
very very good pie. The best chess pie i have ever had. I have tried alot of recipes but this one is the best. i even put choc chips in it, for a change of pase.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
This pie was exactly what I remembered my grandmother's tasting like. She died before I could get her recipe and now I believe I've found it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
This was like eating pure sugar. I'm sure some people would love it, my kids did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homeward Hearts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States