Chess Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
i didnt enjoy this pie too much. first off, it didn't seem to me like it was enough filling for the pie shell, it was less than a half inch thick. and i could really taste/feel the cornmeal in every bite. im really not even sure what the cornmeal does to the pie. the acutall taste of the pie was good. it was nothing special. i wont be making this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This is the same recipe that my grandmother used to make when I was a little girl back in the 50's. After her death, we found this same recipe in her old wooden box of recipes. She died in 1992... When I make these pies I always remember with a smile how they tasted when I was a little girl.... I made 2 of these for Thanksgiving and out of the 6 pies at Dinner these 2 were the only ones that was eaten.... The family loves them too.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
This tastes like a cross between a pudding pie and a custard. I added a cinnamon meringue to the top, and this pie came out great. I have to admit, I had my reservations at first. Unless we try new things, we are stuck every holiday with the same boring choices. So surprise someone with something new and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TasteKing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mccomb, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Summit, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This is a great recipe, the ingridients, measurements, everything else is correct except the time. It needs to be cooked for about 45-50 minutes, otherwise, it will be a gooey mess. 3 stars, due to the fact that if you cook it for 35 minutes, it's not how it's supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I give this 5 stars becaise its great. I was so tired of asking people to make me a chess pie or buying them at the store. I saw this today and made it today as well. Guess what it turned out perfectly! The only thing is instead of 35mins cook it for 55mins. Perrrrfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
We loved this! Yes, it's sweet, but chess pie is supposed to be, right? 35 min was perfect. This was quick, easy, and had a great flavor. Thanks for the recipe : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoriAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This was incredibly easy, and fast! It was so sweet and the perfect texture. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
So easy, and the first time a chess pie that I made actually 'set' and was edible. I did leave in the oven for about 55 minutes. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
This is an AWESOME pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMDAD4KIDDIES

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
I liked this pie, but I have had better. The custard pie that is better came from this site too. It's called Grandma's Coconut Pie. I love coconut custard pies, but my husband doesn't not, so I make one with coconut and one wthout and it is so GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States