Chess Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I think it was a great recipe; quick, easy, and tasted great. Even my picky son now claims this to be his favorite pie. While some ovens may bake this in 35 minutes, mine took 55 minutes to set up perfectly. Everyone should read the directions and stop complaining about the length of time it takes.....your directions plainly state "35 minutes or until set." Thanks for sharing a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Canerdy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flat Rock, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I'm SHOCKED at the amount of people who say this was done in 35 minutes! Next time I'm definitely going to bake it an hour. Ours was like pudding with a hard top. Even after being refrigerated all nite the consistency was straight pudding. Bummer because the flavor was good. I would seriously recommend baking for ONE HOUR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eating Indy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Great pie, and super easy to make!! I was looking for a recipe for "somethin' sweet" with ingredients I had on hand, and stumbled over this. I did have to cook mine about an hour to get it to set, but will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abbeville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I will be honest, I have not made this recipe, yet. But it is exactly like the one I have misplaced. It has been in our family for generations. The vinegar is important because it adds just a bit of bite to offset the sugar. Make sure you cut small pieces. Large ones are too sweet to eat. Enjoy! Go with the longer baking time, but keep an eye on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn Clauss Walrath

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Quick & easy. Husband is a real chess pie lover and thought this was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Excellent and simple recipe. Big hit at our family Christmas get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glasgow, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Auburn, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
this pie is awesome, my dad loves pie, my husband hates pie, and custard. but they both went raving mad over this one. i did it with homemade crust. i had to cook it a little longer than the recipe said, and covered it with foil so the top didn't get too dark, but otherwise i followed the recipe. it was perfect. i don't even like chess pie, but i love this one. making it again today as a matter of fact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Sexton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
i made this recipe for one of my Thanksgiving pies. I read a whole string of the reviews on the recipe, and every one with the exception of one, said that no way did it cook in 35 min, that it took at least and hour. So trusting that, I didn't check it at 35 min,.. it burned. So I made another watching it carfully, it came out beautiful and delicious in 35 min on the DOT. So I think the difficulty is that those people maybe didn't pre heat their oven. Mmine had been on 350 for many hours cooking the turkey. When it came out, I cooked the pie. So be advised, mine came out perfectly at 35 min. Make sure you throughly pre-heat your oven and watch it carfully. You will be rewarded with a terrific pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Wimberley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Flavor tasted great! Cooked it well over an hour and it was still runny in the middle.. never did set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
love chess pie, but I followed this recipe exactly and for someone who loves sweets this was way too sweet for anyone in my family. i would cut sugar in half next time, and 35 minutes was not long enough to cook this, I cooked 35 then another 30 before it was done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States